Talking to Joanna Penn about nailing your novel

Today I’m Joanna Penn’s guest at The Creative Penn podcast. Joanna’s interviews are essential listening for me – she’s an author, blogger and business consultant who has rejected the traditional publishing route because she found it too slow and difficult. Instead, she set herself the task of learning how to do it all herself.

Every week she interviews editors, marketing experts and writers about their adventures in publishing and book marketing and has built up a formidable following among all those of us who want to take charge of our publishing careers and make the very best of what the internet can offer us. She’s written a brace of books on writing, self-publishing and internet marketing. She’s also been realising a long-held dream to write thrillers and her first – Pentecost - is just about to launch.

I’m thrilled she wanted me to be her guest this week. Come and join us as we discuss ghostwriting, tips for writing a bestseller – and how to write your second novel. And whether I mind doing really nasty things to characters…

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Joanna Penn on February 2, 2011 - 10:15 pm

    It was a great interview Roz. I’m going to use your emoticon tip for my next edit! I know people are going to find a lot of useful info in the interview and there are show notes as well in case people want to read :)
    Thanks again, Joanna

    • #2 by rozmorris on February 3, 2011 - 9:03 pm

      Thank YOU Joanna – it was great to chat. Have fun doing truly beastly things to characters – and then inventing suitable emoticons…

  2. #3 by Mary Tod on February 3, 2011 - 3:29 pm

    Hello Roz – just read your post on Joanna’s site so thought I would check out yours. Found your ‘beat sheet’ which looks like a winner. I’be been using a technique I found in Elizabeth George’s book about the craft called Write Away. I described it in a post on my blog (http://onewritersvoice.com/2010/10/13/plotting-const…ue-and-tension/ ) if you are interested. I think yours will combine nicely with hers!! Many thanks,

    • #4 by rozmorris on February 3, 2011 - 9:04 pm

      Hi Mary – thanks, the beat sheet has saved me from many a mess. I just subscribed to your blog, but the link in your comment doesn’t work..

  3. #5 by Jessica on February 4, 2011 - 1:02 am

    Hi, Roz. I see that your book Nail Your Novel used to be available as an eBook download at some point, but it’s no longer available as such (at least, not at my usual eBook purchasing haunts). Is there any chance it’s going to be available again anytime soon? I’d love to purchase it, but I’m visually impaired and really need the ability to enlarge the font on my ereader. I’m definitely looking forward to getting my hands on it if it does become available, as it’s one of the most highly recommended writing books out there! Thanks!

    • #6 by rozmorris on February 4, 2011 - 1:23 am

      Hi Jessica! Reeling from your compliment, thank you! Nail Your Novel will shortly be available on Kindle – 14 Feb is launch day. Is that any good to you? Otherwise, I’m researching other epub options, although I’m having to learn about them from scratch so it may take a little longer.

      • #7 by Jessica on February 4, 2011 - 1:25 am

        Barnes & Noble has their version of the KDP set-up that Amazon has at pubit.barnesandnoble.com (not sure if you were aware of this one or not, but I’m willing to bet you are lol). I have a Nook Color, so Amazon eBooks don’t work on it, but worst case scenario, I can buy it from Amazon and break the DRM off of it to convert it (which is, I know, illegal, but sometimes if it’s not available in epub and I still want to support an author, I’m forced to do that, because I don’t believe in eBook piracy).

        • #8 by rozmorris on February 4, 2011 - 1:08 pm

          Jessica, bless you! I am looking into the B&N situation but I’m waiting for a US tax code so can’t do very much until that arrives. Hope you manage to get a copy that you can use soon.

          • #9 by Jessica on February 4, 2011 - 6:01 pm

            Good to know! The only thing I’ll warn you about about B&N (from personal experience): the sales reporting system is INCREDIBLY slow about updating. Unlike Amazon,which shows my digital sales nearly instantly,sometimes on B&N it takes upwardsof two days to reflect all the sales (and sometimes longer!).Looking forward to seeing it on there. :)

  4. #10 by souldipper on February 5, 2011 - 2:38 am

    Thank you so very much. What a bundle of good experiential guidance. I have already bookmarked your beat sheet in an earlier blog.

    I’m so glad you are coming out and unto your own.

    • #11 by rozmorris on February 5, 2011 - 7:54 pm

      Thank you, Souldipper! Lovely to meet you.

  5. #12 by K.M. Weiland on February 5, 2011 - 5:29 pm

    Great fun, Roz! I got to participate in an interview with Joanna earlier this week, so I know how much of a blast this must have been. Thanks, as ever, for sharing your wisdom with us.

    • #13 by rozmorris on February 5, 2011 - 7:55 pm

      Katie, I bookmark Joanna’s podcasts anyway, but I will go for a special run the day that one comes out! I was hoping she’d do you sometime…

      • #14 by rozmorris on February 6, 2011 - 9:25 am

        Er, I mean ‘interview you’. Not burn you alive like her characters. thought I’d better clarify.

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,064 other followers

