Archive for March 19th, 2011

Roz, you broke BlogTalkRadio

I did live radio last night! I was guest on Page Turners, an internet radio show on BlogTalkRadio hosted by Meg Collins, Antoinette Dickson and Nancy Denofio. These ladies live to write. Meg is a poet, scriptwriter and the author of scores of children’s books and resides at the delightfully named blog The Diary of a Starfish. Nancy is a debut poet and the author of the hauntingly titled What Brought You Here? and Antoinette is taking her first steps to becoming a published author and has a blog A Serendipitous Sojourn.

As I said, we all live to write – so of course were quite challenged to get a hook-up across the Atlantic without using Skype. Just don’t ask why we didn’t use Skype – you won’t get a civilised answer, not least because none of us know. So the first part of the show, Antoinette and I had the airwaves to ourselves while Nancy was shouting into a dead line and Meg was marooned in another pocket of communications limbo.

While Antoinette and I made writerly chit-chat we were all conducting a fraught conversation on email and Facebook: ‘Where are you?’ ‘You have to log in’  ‘I am logged in’ ‘I can see you on my desk but can’t hear you’. ‘Roz you broke BlogTalkRadio’. And so on.

But the airwave fairies released Nancy and Meg in the end, and they grilled me about how many books I’ve sold ghostwriting, my film with Matt Damon, the Morris writing household … and got me to talk quite a lot about the novel I have on submission, My Memories of a Future Life.

You can listen to it again here… and a proper post is coming tomorrow – on stories within stories, and fantasies within story worlds.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,341 other followers