How serialising made me revise more tightly – guest post at Tuesday Serial

I’m at Tuesday Serial today, a weekly round-up of serial fiction being published throughout the web. They were curious to know about my experiences releasing My Memories of a Future Life as four parts on the Kindle, which is how I originally launched. Thinking back, it made me revise more sharply – and I’m glad I did because it surely strengthened the novel. Come over and see, on Tuesday Serial -or any day you like…

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sally on December 8, 2011 - 11:11 am

    Oh, Roz, you know how to sell serialisation! I’m finished with my own novel now and it too quite conveniently splits neatly into four parts. I’ve been toying with the idea of actually spliting the three acts and making part one available for free, and making the whole of the rest available on Kindle and paperback. But if I’m doing that, then maybe I’m better off just going for serialisation. Time to ask my mailing list, I think!

    • #2 by rozmorris @dirtywhitecandy on December 8, 2011 - 11:20 am

      Hi Sally! Serialising one part as a teaser for the rest… that’s an interesting perspective.
      You might also like to keep an eye on Publetariat this week. Jane Friedman (ex of Writer’s Digest) was writing a piece this week for them on serialisation and asked me to answer some questions – as well as other people who’ve been toying with serialisation. I don’t have a link yet but I’ll post it here when I do.
      Curiously, I still find people are buying my episodes, even though I’d have thought they’d decide the whole novel was easier and better value.

      • #3 by Sally on December 8, 2011 - 2:43 pm

        Thanks for the head up Roz – will look out for the piece on Publetariat.
        I can understand why folks would go for the serialised version, even though they swear they prefer the whole. I thought about waiting for your whole novel and then ended up buying the installments. I figured this way I’d get a taster before deciding whether or not I’d pay to read on. Then for my own book I thought I might experiment with making part 1 free. This isn’t really a new idea, of course. I’ll have to decide soon either way. Having your perspective is useful, so thanks for sharing it.

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,483 other followers

