‘To write about events with a depth that the passage of time might have made shallow’ – Catherine Ryan Howard

My guest today on The Undercover Soundtrack is self-publishing blogger and travel writer-turned-novelist Catherine Ryan Howard. When she sat down to write her second travel memoir, Backpacked: A Reluctant Trip Across Central America, she turned to movie soundtracks to recapture the truth of the experience. Saunter over to the red blog for total recall.

And incidentally, in this festive season you can get episode 1 of My Memories of a Future Life for free on Kindle – but hurry to the Kindle store right now as the offer vanishes after December 30…

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Daniel R. Marvello on December 28, 2011 - 8:25 pm

    Hi Roz. Did you decide to try KDP Select with MMOAFL? I’ll be interested in hearing your take on the program after the first payout.

    • #2 by rozmorris @dirtywhitecandy on December 28, 2011 - 8:36 pm

      Hi Daniel – good question. I’m doing KDP Select only with episode 1 – it seems a no-brainer. But that’s because I’ve already got the novel split.

      The free copies are literally flying out of the Kindle store. The total changes minute by minute. In fact I probably ought to tweet that… doh, not very bright at this publicising lark.

    • #3 by Daniel R. Marvello on December 28, 2011 - 8:47 pm

      Oh, I’m sure you’ll get it “nailed.” ;-)

      (You can tell I just finished “Nail Your Novel” over the weekend.)

      Now I’m really interested in how it works out, because you are doing exactly what I thought was the best use of KDP Select: put only the first book of a series into it, and let that exposure drive sales of the remaining books. I think the people who threw their entire catalog into it are nuts.

      However, I probably won’t put my first book into it because the exclusivity requirement seriously annoys me.

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,931 other followers

