Shaking off the ghost – guest post at Jessica Bell’s

When I was ghostwriting, I longed to have a novel published with my own name on. Today I’m talking about my journey to make that happen at The Alliterative Allomorph, bloggish home of author, singer, poet and songwriter Jessica Bell.

Her name might be familiar to you as a recent guest on The Undercover Soundtrack, where she made a big impression by revealing she wrote her own unique soundtrack for her debut novel String Bridge. Yes, that Jessica Bell, I knew you’d remember her… Come over and see where this very cool lady hangs out.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Carol Riggs on May 10, 2012 - 9:53 pm

    Yes! I remember when you used to ghostwrite. Fabbo that you got a book of your VERY OWN published now–one that you could be true to your Self, and not have to sound like someone else. Enjoy those personal kudos! The book sounds like a fun plot/premise, too. :)

  2. #3 by Teddi Deppner on May 16, 2012 - 3:57 am

    Well, I tried to enter this comment on your guest post above, but blogspot keeps giving me an error about how my “OpenID credentials could not be verified” — even though I was logged in to WordPress.com/OpenID while I was commenting! Silly technology…

    So here’s my comment anyway:

    I love how the publishing world has changed recently. Not just because it gives authors more choices, but also because it gives readers new choices!

    There’s something fundamentally shifting in our world, I think, as the Internet opens the way for people to basically LIVE within their own taste and niche. Rather than being forced to feed from the mass market trough, we can narrow things down and find entertainment (whether music, film or books) that truly thrills us, that meets us where we are most passionate. And then we connect with others who are passionate about those things.

    We have yet to see how this will transform our societies, in America and the UK and globally. Generations are coming into adulthood today who are interacting with technology, entertainment, and community in a totally different way, and the changes in the publishing world are a part of that.

    This excites me. And encourages me to do as you did, Roz, and stay true to my story’s original vision… whatever that might become as I chisel it clear during the writing process. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,477 other followers

