How do we discover what to read? Post at Authors Electric

problogAESorry, you got two trailer posts from me today. It’s my turn at Authors Electric, where I’m wondering how relevant SEO is for fiction writers and readers.

It all started when I saw a link to a post on Problogger which advised bloggers to stop running guest posts with a lot of links because of new Google algorithms. Undercover Soundtrack host, please note. This led to a fun, fulminating conversation with Facebook friends Cyd Madsen, Vivienne Tuffnell and Beth Rudetsky about tails wagging dogs. But getting our work discovered is a real issue for writers, and at Authors Electric I’m wondering how that’s done. Come over and join the debate.

(Thanks for the pic Daveynin)

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by acflory on February 21, 2013 - 12:47 pm

    I enjoyed your post on SEO. I know search engines are important but I wonder if we really need to worry about them all that much? Word of mouth seems to work better in the long run, at least for writing. On my blog I seem to get random visitors coming for my recipes and odd non-fiction posts but very little traffic for the ‘important’ stuff. Writing related visitors arrive through other connections. -shrug-

    • #2 by rozmorris @dirtywhitecandy on February 21, 2013 - 1:11 pm

      That’s my feeling too. And Problogger is a different kind of world from the blogging we do. It’s as if writers – and other creatives – need to follow a different set of blogging guidelines from the more commercially orientated sites. Although we’re all aiming for exposure and sales, we reach out in different ways.

      • #3 by acflory on February 22, 2013 - 12:18 am

        Aaah, I see. I’m not familiar with Problogger so I didn’t realise the Pro really does stand for ‘professional’. Then again, I don’t think we’re hobbyists either… :/

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,737 other followers

