It’s a cover! The real cover of Lifeform Three

coverLF3Forget the alien on fire. Delete your sparkly apocalypse. Say hello to misty woods, abandoned towns, secrets in the landscape, a forbidden life by night, the scent of bygone days and a past that is itching to be found. Say hello to a door in a dream that seems to hold the answers. And this is science fiction? Oh yes, in a literary, unusual sort of way. You’ll see.

I’m quite excited now! I’ll let you know when it’s up. In the meantime, my to-do list is full of notes such as ‘fit the new cover into the artwork at the top of the blog without making it nonsensically crowded’, ‘update end material in other books’, ‘book myself a spot on The Undercover Soundtrack’…

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Wendy Jones on December 16, 2013 - 8:34 pm

    I love this cover. Very evocative

  2. #2 by philipparees on December 16, 2013 - 8:35 pm

    That door is a very 3d hole in the wall! Intriguing

  3. #3 by Henry Boleszny on December 16, 2013 - 8:45 pm

    Great cover, Roz! It tempts me to consider the book more than the one you showed us yesterday. That one looked like you were writing about a zombie apocalypse. This one is more ‘Doorway into Summer’, one of my favourite books when I was a teen.

  4. #5 by Carol Riggs on December 16, 2013 - 8:49 pm

    This definitely has more of a misty woods, mysterious flavor to it. Love the center door, and the whole atmosphere. :)

  5. #6 by Mary Foster on December 16, 2013 - 8:57 pm

    Fantastic cover! Congratulations on a wonderful upgrade. This is much more appealing (to me) than the previous one. :)

  6. #7 by tomburkhalter on December 16, 2013 - 8:59 pm

    Now that’s a good cover!

  7. #8 by Samia on December 16, 2013 - 9:00 pm

    I really like this cover; it looks sophisticated and shows three different images of places to match the name. I am glad you changed the cover; the other one looked sort of childish.

  8. #9 by Debra Eve on December 16, 2013 - 9:02 pm

    Intriguing juxtaposition of nature and metal. Love it, Roz!

  9. #10 by Teddi Deppner on December 16, 2013 - 9:34 pm

    Wow, that’s really different.

    I’m glad you’re sensitive to how a cover attracts readers. I’m drawn to the first cover than this one… but that might be about right, since I don’t usually read “literary” style fiction.

    Fascinating. Thanks for sharing, and best wishes for the book’s launch!

  10. #11 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on December 16, 2013 - 9:39 pm

    Thank you, guys! Feeling like a ridiculously proud mummy right now…

  11. #12 by Deb Atwood on December 16, 2013 - 10:34 pm

    What a difference! The two covers look like two completely different books. This one is more suggestive and evocative of mood. Congratulations!

  12. #13 by Robert on December 16, 2013 - 10:38 pm

    Evokes a completely different idea of what the story promises than the other, for sure!

    Nice work, as always ;)

  13. #14 by acflory on December 16, 2013 - 10:42 pm

    Now I’m truly intrigued! Much better. :D

  14. #15 by Dave Morris on December 17, 2013 - 1:00 am

    So that’s the secret. Leave your wife alone for a day while you go gaming with your buddies, and at the end of it she’ll have whipped up a brilliant cover ;)

  15. #16 by canadianhayes on December 17, 2013 - 2:06 am

    I follow your blog and I’m launching a Kickstarter on Fri, can you help by reposting? http://bit.ly/1kaht2U

    • #17 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on December 17, 2013 - 9:07 am

      Hi Canadian – best of luck with your Kickstarter, but I don’t do reposts. Contact me on Twitter and I’ll let my tweeps know about you, though!

      • #18 by canadianhayes on December 17, 2013 - 3:40 pm

        Thanks so much:) that would be awesome!! I’ll hit you up on Friday.

      • #19 by canadianhayes on December 17, 2013 - 8:05 pm

        Thanks so much!! You’ll hear from me on Friday. I really appreciate it!!
        Sean

  16. #20 by Joanne Phillips on December 17, 2013 - 8:12 am

    I love it Roz – and I’m relieved because I really didn’t like the other one, but this looks like something I’d definitely want to read :) x

  17. #22 by Paris Franz on December 17, 2013 - 11:50 am

    Lovely cover! And I’m a sucker for literary science fiction, so this looks right up my street!

  18. #23 by Joanna Penn (@thecreativepenn) on December 17, 2013 - 4:40 pm

    I want to read it now Roz – the other one definitely put me off – but this is awesome!

  19. #25 by Laxmi on December 18, 2013 - 11:36 am

    This one is great. I love the shades on the background and the most amazing door waits to be opened!

  20. #26 by Theresa Hupp on December 20, 2013 - 11:50 pm

    I would pick this book up. The other cover . . . not likely. Congratulations!

  21. #27 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on December 21, 2013 - 8:37 am

    Thanks, guys!

  22. #28 by raizscanlon on January 10, 2014 - 4:24 am

    I liked both covers actually, but clearly looked like two very different books!

    Having now finished lifeform three (lovely! Review is on Goodreads and will be up shortly on Amazon), I can see why that person gave you the feedback re the first cover. There would have definitely been more of a disconnect, whereas the cover above is … perfect. Nice job!

Your turn!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,215 other followers

