I dropped by to procrastinate

Are you looking at this blog instead of doing something important? Perhaps a course assignment or a rewrite? I’m definitely meant to be doing something productive but I wrote this post instead.

If you’re reading this because you’ve got better things to do, we seem to be sharing a moment of procrastination.

So drop a comment in the box and tell everyone what you’re supposed to be up to and where you’ve come from. And where you’re headed next to put off the evil deed for a little while longer. Let’s see how many links we can make in this procrastination chain… And who’s procrastinating out there at the moment!

, ,

  1. #1 by admin on September 7, 2009 - 1:05 pm

    It’s definitely up to me to come clean first. Right now I’m meant to be starting the redraft of Life Form 3.

  2. #2 by Verdonk on September 7, 2009 - 1:34 pm

    I’m supposed to be getting on with a novel but I’m printing out an Arts Council application form instead, because I heard of somebody yesterday who got an Arts Council grant to write her novel. Something tells me that applying is going to be utterly futile, and that the effort would be better spent just writing – but I have to find out.

  3. #3 by Dom Camus on September 7, 2009 - 1:37 pm

    I’m supposed to be debugging my game. This is actually quite urgent since the IGF submission deadline is 1st November. That might sound a long way off, but anything involving pooter software takes forever.

    • #4 by admin on September 7, 2009 - 11:29 pm

      Dom – how exciting to see someone from outside the conventional writing discipline. Thanks and good luck with the deadline!

  4. #5 by Zelah on September 7, 2009 - 9:01 pm

    I’m supposed to be going to bed, since I woke up just after 3am this morning and am shattered (and, as of today, now have a job to get up for!) I am procrastinating by surfing the web but will shortly stop doing so… probably!

  5. #6 by K.M. Weiland on September 7, 2009 - 11:22 pm

    I’m cruising by on my daily blog rounds… but I don’t really consider it procrastination. Meeting new people in the blogosphere is an important part of a writer’s career. I don’t have to call it procrastination just because it’s enjoyable, right?😉

    • #7 by admin on September 7, 2009 - 11:28 pm

      KM, your logic is flawless. And virtual networking is sure a lot less calorific than publishing parties!

  6. #8 by admin on September 8, 2009 - 11:09 am

    Today I’m struggling with the opening of Life Form 3. So many decisions to make; how to convey the oddness of the world in an intriguing and startling way, how to draw the reader in. The details I should leave until later.

    Readers of my Nail Your Novel book will know that when I get to this stage, something in my wardrobe gets radical attention. Well that’s my procrastination confession for today too. Hello, darling customised shoes – and a solution to my tone problem.

  7. #9 by Eliza Wyatt on September 15, 2009 - 6:23 pm

    I’m supposed to be getting ready for work (class starts in forty minutes), or maybe setting up things to grade the first assignments. Heh… you know us well.

  8. #10 by anonymous on September 17, 2009 - 4:34 am

    Trying to begin my own novel.

  9. #11 by Tony Hough on October 19, 2009 - 8:56 am

    Guilty as charged!
    Should be haranguing my agent for some illos to do, or improving my portfolio or even doing the washing up would be practical….
    Ah! Now the cat’s at the window! Goodbye, plans….

  10. #12 by Tina Haapala on October 27, 2009 - 4:15 pm

    I’m living, breathing irony. I’m looking for additional material for my blog about helping people avoid excuses they use to keep from writing(www.excuseeditor.com). I think coming face to face with it here in this little comment box is enough to get me back on track. I will be visiting again, and probably link to this on my site soon, since I find it helpful for my own writing!

  11. #13 by Eric on January 15, 2010 - 2:24 pm

    I love the concept! I might steal the idea for my french blog😉

    Now, back to work!

  12. #14 by Emily on October 12, 2010 - 2:28 pm

    I’m supposed to be working on a memoir I’m ghosting.😀 I can’t help it though…you have so many great ideas on this blog. Lots of fun to look through!

    • #15 by rozmorris on October 12, 2010 - 8:47 pm

      Thank you, and hail, fellow ghost. Nice of you to whoosh through.

  13. #16 by Marilyn Clare on October 13, 2010 - 10:26 am

    Procrastinatination is not my long suit, but I am supposed to finalize my book debut presentation for this Friday and Augsburg College Barnes and Noble bookstore in Minneapolis, MN and I am sitting here at my computer meeting all of you at this wonderful blog. “Missy Mouse Meets THom Elf” was published in June and is not just a children’s story, but fiction for adult readers too and photos of one of our beautiful parks. Her journey has led her to UK booksellers.

    Oh, oh, I found you at this blog, nice to have met you. I’d better get busy.

    • #17 by rozmorris on October 13, 2010 - 10:51 am

      Hi Marilyn! What an exciting project. I hope that taking a breather here has rejuvenated your muse. Do you have a link you’d like to post? I’m sure readers would like to get acquainted with your book.

Your turn!

