On this day in 2008… and this year’s Writer’s Digest blog awards!

Nominations for the best writing blog awards… close 1 January 2010

I must be one of the few people who like receiving Christmas round-robin letters. If I get a card from someone I haven’t seen all year, I’d rather know what they’ve been up to. Whether boastful or boring, it’s way more interesting than getting only their signature. Of course my own news looks rather repetitive – ‘book, another book, um yet another book…’.

 But I do find it fun to look back to this day in 2008, and consider what didn’t yet exist. Chiron O’Keefe at The Write Soul  is in this mood too, suggesting that to spur yourself on in 2010, you should list all your writing achievements for 2009 on the first page of your diary.

So here’s what I would put in mine. On this day in 2008, my WIP Life Form 3 was little more than a shaky synopsis. Now I am revising the full manuscript with mounting excitement. One of my 9-12 ghost projects was a draft with major flaws. Now it has been read by agents on both sides of the Atlantic, who have given such perceptive feedback that it is shaping into something really special. I’ve added two genres to my ghosting repertoire that I’d never written in before – adult chick-lit and pre-teen romance. I’ve had two major ideas for adult novels that are so exciting I can hardly decide which to work up first. Nail Your Novel, the book, didn’t exist at all except as a much-followed routine in my head. Now hordes of you have given me great feedback about it and I’m planning the next in the series.

 In 2008, this blog was not even a twinkle in my eye. Now the blog world and all of you who comment and send me emails are an essential part of my writing life. And there are a lot of blogs I’m very glad I found.

 Anyway, I’ve just found out that Writer’s Digest are currently seeking nominations for their 101 best writing blogs of 2009. There are loads I’m going to be bringing to the judges’ attention. And if you’ve been a Dirty White Candy regular and enjoyed the content, would you zap a quick vote in my favour? The deadline is 1 January 2010, and nominations should be emailed to writersdig@fwpubs.com. Be sure to include“101 Websites” in the subject line.

In the meantime, I wishyou a happy, prosperous and productive New Year. And tell me here – where were your WIPs this time last year?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Cat Woods on December 30, 2009 - 4:45 pm

    I would be happy to send a vote in your direction.

    It’s a great inspiration to read about your journey, your insights and your successes. Keep up the good work and best of luck!

Your turn!

