Tagged!! Now I’ve got to tell you the last thing I wrote, the first thing I wrote, and a lot of stuff in between

A good friend and fellow writer, Cat Woods, has just paid me the huge compliment of tagging me on her blog, Words From The Woods. In case you haven’t come across tagging before, it means I now have to answer a few questions about my writing… 

1)What’s the last thing you wrote? What’s the first thing you wrote that you still have?
I’m currently revising Life Form 3. I can’t tell you anything about it as it’s not fit for outside eyes yet, but I’m really excited about it and keep wanting to say its name. Return of the repressed, I guess.

The last thing I delivered to an outsider was The Unseen Hand, a ghosting project for 9-12s.

The first thing I wrote that I still have is a short story, Odin’s Ravens. It’s about a young woman, Polly, remembering when she was six and stayed with her eccentric uncle, a writer. On the day she arrives, uncle goes swimming in a secluded lake and someone – or something – steals his clothes. The ‘thing’ then turns up at the house and proceeds to sabotage the novel he’s working on and generally causes poltergeist mayhem. Polly befriends it, and is surprised to discover it arrived in the house at the same time as she did. Gradually Polly realises it’s connected with the past history of her family.

Actually, it doesn’t sound too bad, explained like that, but I’m sure that if I looked at it I’d see plenty of reasons to rewrite the whole thing.

2) Write poetry?
I dabbled in it when I was a kid, and in songwriting too, but found them too limiting. I tend to have ideas that take many thousands of words to explore. Even my short stories always came out long!

3) Angsty poetry?
When I was a teenager I wanted to be Kate Bush. So I wrote angsty lyrics with weirdness.  I wrote the music as well. I can still remember them, distressingly clearly.

4) Favorite genre of writing?
I adore stories about people having bizarre relationships that are full of profound resonance. For instance, Santa Evita by Tomas Eloy Martinez and The Four Wise Men by Michel Tournier. I suppose it’s literary fiction with a twist. It’s what I love to write too.

5) Most annoying character you’ve ever created?
Tiff, a rebellious teenage girl on an outward bound course. She had been stuck there by her parents and hated it, so she whinged about being cold and wet all the time and then went off by herself in a pothole so that the organisers would have to rescue her. When our heroes uncover a drugs factory in the hills, Tiff eats the evidence. She causes chaos the whole time and was great fun.   

6) Best plot you’ve ever created?
I wrote one about organ snatching in India. It featured a family in a desperately poor village. The mother tries to sell one of her kidneys to a rich businessman so that she can provide dowries for her three daughters. But she’s found to be too unhealthy. Her eldest daughter arranges in secret to go in her place but at the last minute gets scared and tries to back out. So the businessman kidnaps her.

The easiest plot I ever created was for Mirror Image, my first ghosted novel. I came up with the plot in 45 minutes and then sat down to watch an anthropology programme by Desmond Morris. Then I wrote the synopsis as quickly as possible, sent it to the publisher and they loved it. It was the easiest synopsis/planning stage I’ve ever had. Sometimes if you whack it down it comes out just right. (Most of the time it doesn’t, though…)

7) Coolest plot twist you’ve ever created?
I read about Carlos the Jackal and thought it’d be great to have an incredibly resourceful villain. When he eventually got trapped, I had him cut his own hand off. Years later Prison Break did something similar!

How often do you get writer’s block?
I don’t really get blocked. I get fidgety. Some days I can’t settle to work on my current project and it’s usually because my subconscious knows there’s a problem I haven’t yet faced. Once I break through, I snatch any excuse to run to the computer and do a bit more.

9) Write fan fiction?
Not any more. But when I was a kid I was deeply into Dr Who (Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker incarnations) and Sapphire & Steel, and tried writing many stories about strangeness. Most of them were too complicated to ever get published.   

10) Do you type or write by hand?
Type. My fingers do the thinking for me. Plus, my handwriting is truly dreadful, and when I make notes I frequently find I can’t read them. When I was at school we were compelled to use fountain pens, but I made such a mess that I got a special dispensation to use felt tips, which were usually regarded as slovenly.

11) Do you save everything you write?
Yes, I am a compulsive hoarder. I have often found that early versions of stories or chapters are very useful at later stages in a revise. I also make multiple back-ups.  

12) Do you ever go back to an idea after you’ve abandoned it?
I don’t abandon ideas. If they’ve run up against a dead end, it’s usually because they need another ingredient or a different slant. I usually find that something that didn’t work one way comes alive with different characters.

13) What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever written?
A story called Ever Rest, set in Tibet. Everyone who read it really loved it and said I should turn it into a novel. So that’s one of my WIPs.

14) What’s everyone else’s favorite story you’ve written?
Apart from Ever Rest, a lot of people liked Basnelli’s Skeleton, a story about a daft but sinister art phenomenon.

15) Ever written romance or angsty teen drama?
Mirror Image was an angsty teen horror romance, written under the pen name Maria Palmer. Originally my husband Dave was going to write it, but for various reasons I wrote it instead. I enjoyed it so much I did another for fun. I definitely have a taste for drama – I could never write one of those novels where nothing much happens. And I am a huge romantic – although I like to lace it with something rather offbeat.

16) What’s your favorite setting for your characters?
It’s always whatever I’m working on. At the moment it’s an area of the Surrey Hills, the setting of Life Form 3 (see, I said it again). But another setting I’m quite chuffed with is Vellonoweth, a sleepy village I invented in the West Country which is completely normal except for its decommissioned nuclear power station. And its spiritualists.

17) How many writing projects are you working on right now? A ghosting project I’m going to do a rewrite on; an adult novel I’m collecting ideas for; the next Nail Your Novel book.  And shall we mention that other thing again?

18) Have you ever won an award for your writing?
No, sadly. It’s one of the perils of being an invisible ghost. Although I do still have the English Essay cup I won at school. Hope they don’t read this as I should have given it back.

19) What are your five favorite words?
Oveleth (an old-style oven as big as Stonehenge), triessu (an elaborate dress worn for the saddest day of someone’s life), podos (toe marks in a second-hand shoe from the original owner), emardie (embittered by working with Emu).

These are the strange poetic offerings of word verification, which seem to cry out for meanings. I’m starting a hashtag list for them on Twitter – @dirtywhitecandy #wordverificationlexicon, so do come and play. My fifth word is helytola and I’d like to know the meaning. Can anyone help?

20) What character have you created that is most like yourself?
In some ways my characters are all like me, because to write them with truth I have to put myself in their shoes (feel those podos). Or they’re like people I know and have made outrageous suppositions about – but no harm done as they would never be recognisable. All my significant characters spark from something real – but then I embroider.

21) Where do you get your ideas for your characters?
Everywhere. Something someone says will itch in my brain and I’ll think, what if you said that to such-and-such a person? I quite often look at what people wear and wonder why they chose those things. Superficial but satisfying.

22) Do you ever write based on your dreams?
When I worked full time I used to write a dream report every morning, and Dave would read it before he started writing for the day. It was great discipline. I found them a few months ago and they were surprisingly creative, so I might do it again.

23) Do you favor happy endings?
I favour the right ending – the one that is the most satisfying resolution to the problem. In the genre novels I’ve ghosted a happy ending has often been necessary, but it has to be earned.  

24) Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?
I am a detail nerd. I work part time as a magazine sub-editor, so I have an internal spelling and grammar checker running from the moment I open my eyes. It drives me nuts if I see illiterate posters and signs. I think people should be allowed to carry marker pens and correct them.

25) Does music help you write?
Definitely. I’m hugely sensitive to it, and putting music on is like mainlining a scene’s atmosphere. It can make all the difference to me getting into a story or not – and to the way I write it. It guides me to a better understanding of my characters’ mental state and what they want or fear. 

26) Quote something you’ve written. Whatever pops in your head.

‘Two divers are swimming through the underwater garden, planting eels in the rockery.’ The opening line of My Memories Of A Future Life, the adult novel I have on submission.

And finally I’m tagging three bloggers to continue the game: 

  1. One for the soul – Life At Willow Manor – I love her quirky, poetic world
  2. One for the intellect –  Brainy Writer – by a neuroscience researcher with her own unique take on writing
  3. One from a lady with many titles on our shelves and much wisdom to impart Help I Need A Publisher

Choosing only three was tough as there are so many creative people whose answers I would be fascinated to see, so I’ve tried to find ones who might not have played yet. 

Anyway, that’s quite enough from me from one post. Have you been tagged, either now or previously? Put the permalink in a comment below so I can see what you said and everyone can get to know each other a bit better!

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Nicola Morgan on January 12, 2010 - 3:16 pm

    Hi – am so so sorry but I have massive massive deadlines and I can’t see when I’m going to have time to do this. Really sorry but glad you thought of me. Maybe you’d like to tag someone else instead as I’m going to be rubbish. I’ve answered Qs like this for newspapers etc and I know it takes a long time. SORREEE

    • #2 by Roz Morris on January 12, 2010 - 5:31 pm

      Nicola – no worries! I know to do these things well takes time. I wanted to make people aware of your blog as I’ve only just found it – and figured other friends out there might be happy to be introduced too!

  2. #3 by Dave Morris on January 12, 2010 - 5:47 pm

    I miss those dream reports. Reading the incredible journeys your subconscious had been on was a very useful way to kick-start my own creative engine for the day.

  3. #4 by jmartinlibrary on January 12, 2010 - 9:00 pm

    “I get fidgety. Some days I can’t settle to work on my current project and it’s usually because my subconscious knows there’s a problem I haven’t yet faced. ”

    You nailed, girl. That’s exactly how I feel sometimes. There’s a special kind of ebb and flow with writing, I think.

    Great insights!

  4. #5 by Travis Erwin on January 12, 2010 - 9:23 pm

    I like this. Enjoyed reading your answers. I may steal this and answer them on my blog later in the week.

  5. #6 by Cat Woods on January 12, 2010 - 10:38 pm

    Roz,

    Your answers were amazing. Thanks so much for taking the time to answer the tag. I hope other bloggers will see how inspiring you are.

  6. #7 by Roz Morris on January 13, 2010 - 12:17 am

    @ Dave – dream reports will be on your desk first thing tomorrow
    @ jmartin – thank heavens for other bloggers who feel the same!
    @ Travis – nice to meet you and look forward to seeing your answers
    @Cat – thank YOU for leading me on this journey and for your supportive words

  7. #8 by Livia Blackburne on January 13, 2010 - 8:15 pm

    Thanks for thinking of me! I looked at the questions and my answers would be really boring — I’ll have to see if I’m able to answer them in a non boring way.

    • #9 by Roz Morris on January 13, 2010 - 9:30 pm

      Livia – I’m sure the last thing they will be is boring! But take your time – I know you’re juggling about a million other writing tasks. Thanks for taking up the challenge.

  8. #10 by willow on January 17, 2010 - 2:22 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m so honored to be tagged! This will be a lot of fun. I’ll work something up and post it soon.

  9. #11 by Shers Gallagher on January 20, 2010 - 1:55 pm

    How lovely. I’ve enjoyed reading about your shared creative thought process, your energy and enthusiasm. You’ve got so many ideas, and I’ll keep coming back to soak in more of your ambiance as I get to know you better through your writings. TY for sharing.

  10. #12 by Roz Morris on January 20, 2010 - 10:17 pm

    Shers – thank YOU! It really means a lot to me when my work touches someone. I see Willow tagged you – and deservedly so.

Your turn!

