Been redecorating here…

Still nailing - thank you mskogly

Sorry to mess with your reader experience now you’ve got used to snazzy black and orange, but people were starting to tell me it wasn’t the easiest to read. So yes, you have landed at Nail Your Novel, and hopefully this new look is here to stay. Tell me what you think!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Dom Camus on August 11, 2010 - 9:40 am

    I did rather like the black and orange, but the new look is clean and readable and all that good stuff. Besides, I’m normally reading via RSS so it’s not as though I get to see your colour scheme often!

    PS. Enjoyed Florien a lot. The scene where Diana first meets his sister was particularly convincing.

    • #2 by rozmorris on August 11, 2010 - 10:33 pm

      Trouble was, Dom, I read the posts in Word as I wrote them! I only read the comments on the actual web design.
      Thanks for the comment about Florien. Dave was really chuffed.

  2. #3 by Verdonk on August 11, 2010 - 11:06 am

    The redecoration gets my vote. It still has that nice tinge of orange but without the same migraine-level of lividity🙂 And it is a lot more welcoming and easy to read than the blackboard version.

    If only it would remember IDs… *sigh*

  3. #4 by Steph on August 11, 2010 - 3:14 pm

    Roz, I personally find black webpages impossible to read! And they make everything else impossible to read for a good half hour! Much more relaxing this way!

    • #5 by rozmorris on August 11, 2010 - 10:34 pm

      @Verdonk @Steph – that’s two pairs of eyes saved, then!

  4. #6 by Dominique on August 11, 2010 - 4:12 pm

    Good luck. It’s hard finding a layout that is both functional and attractive.

    You should know that the links, in the upper right corner, are kind of funky. When you hover over them, they get too big and spill over the other links.

    • #7 by rozmorris on August 11, 2010 - 10:36 pm

      Hi Dom – not much I can do about that, it comes with the package. I chopped out a lot of the pages so that only a few were up there. I might chop a few more.

  5. #8 by Bruce H. Johnson on August 11, 2010 - 4:29 pm

    Readability and useability reign. The WordPress theme here is excellent for this blog

  6. #9 by Lua on August 11, 2010 - 4:31 pm

    I like this new look🙂 Much easier to read!

  7. #10 by willow on August 11, 2010 - 6:02 pm

    Looks great, Roz!

    • #11 by rozmorris on August 11, 2010 - 10:36 pm

      @Bruce, @Lua @Willow – thanks for the votes of confidence!

  8. #12 by jonathan moore on August 12, 2010 - 8:35 am

    Now, I don’t want to be picky, but can we have the grey colour scheme (looks far more like it might be work related than black) but with the easier to follow comments. I preferred the previous skin’s way of showing who was saying what before they said it, and the flow of comment and response was less jumbled.
    Sorry. If I knew how to do a little blushy face I’d put one here>

    • #13 by rozmorris on August 13, 2010 - 8:35 am

      Jonathan, I’m glad to have you reading me when you’re meant to be doing spreadsheets. I agree about the comment layout, it’s not as nice. I’ll see if there’s something I can tweak.

  9. #14 by Terry Odell on August 13, 2010 - 7:28 pm

    Much improved. I need good contrast between background and text, and can’t read light on dark.

    Terry
    Terry’s Place
    Romance with a Twist–of Mystery

Your turn!

