How I got my agent – guest post at Guide To Literary Agents

I’ve been guesting again. Today I’m at Chuck Sambuchino’s Guide To Literary Agents. Chuck is an editor for Writer’s Digest Books, a playwright and the author of How To Survive A Garden Gnome Attack. I’m thrilled to bits to be featured today, talking about my search for that holy grail, agently representation.

Getting an agent isn’t easy. Some people query for a year and feel they’ve reached the end of the line.

Me? A year is nothing.

Hop on over and see. As a bonus, if you comment on the post there, you’ll be entered in a draw to win a print copy of Nail Your Novel.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dr. Tom Bibey on February 20, 2011 - 3:45 am

    I talked to an agent I liked, but wasn’t signed yet. When I landed my first paying gig I sent him a check for 15% of what I’d made even though he did not know I’d written the articles.

    He called and asked what it was for.

    I said, “I’m gonna send you 15% of what I make as a writer untill you tell me you won’t be my agent.”

    He sent me a contract and is still my agent.

    Dr. B, author, “The Mandolin Case”

    • #2 by rozmorris on February 20, 2011 - 9:45 am

      Very smart, Tom! I like your thinking…

  2. #3 by Carolyn on February 20, 2011 - 12:51 pm

    Hi Roz,

    That’s a great story about how you got your agent! Guess there’s hope for us great unagented. (if there is such a word).

    Congrats on your new book and put my name in for the drawing.

    All best with your book,

    Carolyn

    • #4 by rozmorris on February 20, 2011 - 1:03 pm

      Thank you, Carolyn! I often hear novels referred to as ‘long-form’ stories. I guess I have a long-form story there! Good luck with your book.

  3. #5 by Elenya Lewis on February 20, 2011 - 2:33 pm

    It’s articles like this that encourage me that becoming a published writer is not just the pipe dream many articles seem to say it is! I know that it’s hard, but it’s great to know people do achieve it. Thank you.🙂

    • #6 by rozmorris on February 20, 2011 - 2:47 pm

      Thank you, Elenya! We are all unpublished to start with. Wow, that sounds profound… Keep going.

  4. #7 by Heather on February 20, 2011 - 8:29 pm

    What an encouragement! I would love the opportunity to access agents, even in a small pond like Idaho.

    • #8 by rozmorris on February 21, 2011 - 12:02 am

      Heather, you don’t necessarily have to ever meet them in the flesh. I have a friend who lives in Japan and his agent is in Dublin. And with Skype you can now have virtual face-to-face meetings… or should that be screen to screen?

  5. #9 by Don Traverso on February 20, 2011 - 11:36 pm

    I’m glad to read that I’m not the only “unusual modern fiction” writer who has had challenges finding an agent. Thanks for the story and the encouragement it’s given me.

    • #10 by rozmorris on February 21, 2011 - 12:13 am

      Don, I think we have the most difficult time of all genres. Andpublishers only seem to be interested in something that is like something else currently on sale. Even if what you write is only marginally different from that – not even ground-breaking – that’s enough to make you too risky.
      Keep going!
      I notice you haven’t put a URL on the comment. Do you have a blog? Most authors are encouraged these days to start one, and I think it’s even more important to do that if what you write is a little idiosyncratic. More than, say, an author in a conventional genre, you need to draw people into your way of seeing the world and using ideas.

  6. #11 by stacie williams on February 21, 2011 - 3:30 pm

    well i dont have a agent i only have a publisher but i would love to win a copy of the book it sounds like a great read

    • #12 by rozmorris on February 21, 2011 - 3:35 pm

      thanks for dropping by, stacie – if you have a publisher, congratulations! (emulating your ee cummings typography)

  7. #13 by Angela Cannon-Crothers on February 21, 2011 - 4:05 pm

    Thanks for sharing a real story about an authentic writing life. I can’t believe that with all your connections it took 15 years to find your own agent, but hey…I’ve been looking for 10 years now so maybe I don’t feel quite as bad.Giving up will never be an option I could live with. Kudos on your new book!

    • #14 by rozmorris on February 21, 2011 - 8:25 pm

      Angela, keep going! You’re a relative newbie!

  8. #15 by The Writing Runner on February 22, 2011 - 8:08 pm

    I went through three agent searches over a period of 12 years before I found the right agent for me. Came close a few times, including almost landing an agent when I was in high school. He was a famous agent with famous clients… and he became infamous when word got out he had been stealing from those clients!

    • #16 by rozmorris on February 22, 2011 - 11:59 pm

      This is so interesting, Writingrunner. We don’t often hear of the very close calls – thanks for sharing your story.

      • #17 by The Writing Runner on February 23, 2011 - 12:02 am

        Yeah, it was a very odd situation because he was so legitimate. This wasn’t some guy with a PO Box claiming to be an agent… he really was the real deal, with a big NY office, where he was making a lot of money for his clients… but he wasn’t necessarily telling them about all of it! 😉

  1. How do you start being a writer? « Nail Your Novel

Your turn!

