How to break into ghostwriting

Today I’m guesting about ghosting. Ollin Morales has invited me to his blog Courage2Create, which this year was voted one of Write To Done’s Top 10 Blogs For Writers.

On Courage2Create, Ollin is documenting his journey to write his first novel and equip himself for a long-term and lasting writing career. As part of that quest, he seeks advice from a diversity of sources, practical to spiritual.

Though I have to confess that despite the name, the ghosting I discuss is entirely practical…

So here they are. All the secrets. Who does it. What it’s like. How you could do it too. Or as much as I can tell you without having to kill you…

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ollin on June 29, 2011 - 6:48 pm

    Wow, is that how my blog looks on other people’s computers? Didn’t know. I can hardly see my background on my comp. I got to work on a better design…. oh well.

    Glad to have you over Roz!

    • #2 by rozmorris on June 29, 2011 - 7:00 pm

      Ollin, bear in mind it’s not meant to be viewed as a postage stamp. That’s just my house style when I have a guest post – and it’s a nice way to entice people to new blogs. And I think your background is lovely. Thanks for having me!

  2. #4 by Victoria Mixon on June 29, 2011 - 7:03 pm

    Jeff says, “Cool! I love writing about ghosts.”🙂

    Jut kidding. On my way over to Ollin’s blog now. . .

    • #5 by dirtywhitecandy on June 29, 2011 - 7:18 pm

      I’m still waiting for the day my ghosted titles come out and haunt me…

  3. #6 by Hugh on June 29, 2011 - 8:16 pm

    Ah… Clearly I was wrong in assuming that what Robert Harris described in “The Ghost” was typical…

    • #7 by rozmorris on June 29, 2011 - 11:55 pm

      Hugh, lovely to see you here! I haven’t yet read the Robert Harris novel, but I saw the film. And I very much understood the feeling when the MC sat down with an immense manuscript of utter rubbish.

      • #8 by Hugh on July 1, 2011 - 11:58 am

        “… an immense manuscript of utter rubbish.” :))

        • #9 by Hugh on July 1, 2011 - 6:28 pm

          I imagine the issue then is whether you just re-fashion key scenes and turning-points, or go for a total re-write. Depends on the deadlines, I should think.

          • #10 by dirtywhitecandy on July 1, 2011 - 6:43 pm

            Yes, you just have to do what you can within the time the publisher will allow. But at times like that my cards, beat sheets etc have saved my sanity.

Your turn!

