Episode 4: The Storm

‘If I could get my hands on episode 4, it would be great. Except I’ll have to wait until the 19th of September. How very frustrating.’

It’s here. The 19th. And the finale to My Memories of a Future Life. Find it here if you’re in the UK, here if you’re in most of the rest of the world and here if you’re in Germany. And thank you, Germany, for making my novel number 1 in reincarnation. I think that should go on a T-shirt.

If all this is double-dutch, you can start at episode 1, or listen to a free audio of the first 4 chapters over on the red blog.

 

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Daniel R. Marvello on September 20, 2011 - 8:23 pm

    Hi Roz. I finished MMoaFL last night. What a roller coaster ride! At various points you had me laughing out loud, nearly in tears, frantic, and relieved. My writing feels colorless next to yours, but you give me something to aspire to!

    I have a question for you. On Amazon U.S., you can buy the four parts for $0.99 each (as of this writing). However the full novel is $9.99. I could see that price for the print edition, but why is there a $6.03 surcharge to get the full novel in Kindle format? If anything, I would expect it to be a little less than the four individual parts.

    I’m not criticizing, just curious if there’s a marketing strategy at work here that I’m missing.

    In any case, congratulations on the success of your book!

    • #2 by rozmorris @dirtywhitecandy on September 20, 2011 - 9:14 pm

      Wow, thank you, Daniel – very much indeed.

      About the pricing – yes I can see that might look odd. The 0.99c is an introductory price until October 15, when the individual episodes will go up to USD$2.99 each. The whole book is USD$9.99 – a more realistic market price. I put the episodes out at 0.99c as a taster – the way books are sometimes serialised on first release in magazines and then sold at thei full price later.

    • #3 by Daniel R. Marvello on September 20, 2011 - 9:28 pm

      That makes sense. Glad I got in on the killer deal!

      I hope you continue to report your experiences as the roll-out progresses. Pricing strategies are a big concern for most independently published authors.

      • #4 by rozmorris @dirtywhitecandy on September 20, 2011 - 9:35 pm

        Pricing … you’re absolutely right. It’s a minefield. Behind the scenes I’ve been taking all the advice I can get and trying to make sense of a huge number of different options. Pricing is crazy at the moment. Will keep you updated. And Joanna Penn – aka The Creative Penn – is interviewing me later this week about the whole campaign and how it’s gone. I’ll post a link when it’s up.

      • #5 by Daniel R. Marvello on September 20, 2011 - 9:42 pm

        That will be cool. Joanna asks good questions. I follow Joanna as well, so I’m sure I won’t miss it. I watched her launch of Pentecost closely. She has taken a lot of flack for her 99-cent pricing, but she has solid marketing arguments backing up her decision.

Your turn!

