New cover for Nail Your Novel! And FREE stuff….

nyn1 reboot ebook biggerThe new cover should now be live on all the buying outlets, so here’s the official unveiling!

So why did I change?

First of all, I wanted to funk it up. Give it a chance to pop. The purple cover didn’t scream ‘creativity’ and was rather more staid than the tone of the book. (A point that was echoed by a few commenters here and there. Glad we feel the same, guys!)

Also, the original cover wasn’t designed with a series in mind. For books 2, 3 et al I could have varied the background colour and the wording, but the difference would have been practically invisible on a black and white ereader. And see my previous remarks about dullness. Dull, dull, dull.

This tied me in a few creative knots when I designed the characters book. It had to look like it evolved from NYN original, and allow for distinctive variations with further books. And then – something that nobody knew but me – the characters book and its cousins also had to fit retroactively with the updated design.

So… the new NYN cover had to look like the origin book, rather than another book in the series. For a while I fiddled with graphics that would suggest ‘writing’ and ‘drafting’, but decided that might look like another new book. In the end I stuck with typography, to echo the original cover’s use of quotes from the text. This gives it the best chance of being recognised as the original book, but still look like a snazzy reboot.

table crop letterbox

Big tip for updating a cover on CreateSpace

When you update a cover (or the book’s interior) on CreateSpace, the book becomes unavailable until you approve it, although it’s still available from third-party sellers. It spends 12-24 hours being processed, then they allow you to proof on screen or order a print proof.

Obviously you don’t want your book off sale. so you want this completed swiftly. With a major change like a new cover, you need to see it in print; with colour processes, trimming and so on I think it’s too risky to okay a new cover on a digital proof only. But the fastest you can get a proof to your door is a couple of days, and you’ll pay a big whack for the postage. But if you don’t mind how long the proof takes to arrive (up to six weeks) it will cost only a few dollars.

Your book off sale for six weeks? (Sound of screaming.) Here’s my solution. Make a dummy book.

In my previous post, Catherine Ryan Howard advised you not to make a new edition when updating a book. I agree with her. But this dummy edition will not go on sale. You’ll use it to do the fine tuning, then transfer the files when you know they work.

You need to set it up with a new ISBN – but that doesn’t matter because you can use a free CS one. But you upload the new cover on that and order a copy. While it wends its sweet way to you via China and the International Space Station, the real book sits undisturbed and available. Once you’ve seen physical proof and are happy, you know you can upload the new cover in safety.

notebookA limited edition giveaway!

So… this means I have a special thingy to give away: the dummy book. I decided to have fun with it. Instead of loading it with the interior of the proper book, I created a notebook (which in my CS dashboard I called the Nail Your Novel Notebook of Surprises). The pages are numbered but blank, so you can scribble your ideas and workings but keep track of them with an index. And the surprise? Every 10 pages or so is a writing tip.

There’s only one, so this is an ultra-limited edition. It won’t be on sale as I can’t imagine anyone wanting to actually buy the thing, but it’s fun to be able to give it away. I’ll also throw in a copy of the original book with its old cover, for you to use or to pass on to a friend.

What do you have to do?

Share this post about my new cover, come back here and let me know you have, and I’ll hold a draw on Monday 8th July. One entry per place shared – so you get multiple goes if you spread the news on Twitter, Facebook, G+ or even the International Space Station. Just remember to note here if you shared on multiple platforms.

twin nyns

Oh, and you can find the new Nail Your Novel, with extra cover va-va-voom, on print and ebook outlets now

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by cathysmallwood on July 1, 2013 - 1:46 pm

    Just shared on Twitter and Facebook, a distraction from my Mission Statement struggles😉
    Love the new cover!

  2. #3 by philipparees on July 1, 2013 - 2:05 pm

    Facebook, Twitter and LI, because a girl going out needs to be admired. Like the Orange and Purple. You are quite a purple person though your prose is limpid, lime green? Aquamarine? What colour do you write in? (I don’t mean ink, but what dominant colour is your thought?)

    • #4 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on July 1, 2013 - 7:31 pm

      Very generous as usual, Philippa! I am indeed fond of purple. And red, come to think of it.
      What colour do I write in, aura-wise? I have no idea. But I don’t think I do pastels.
      I was stumped when the cover designer for Life Form Three asked me what colour the novel’s aura was. But after thinking for a while I realised it was the sky at dawn, that pearly time when all is glowing. Maybe that’s also the colour of my thought.

  3. #5 by Mark on July 1, 2013 - 2:48 pm

    Hi Ms. Roz. I shared this on my author facebook page. Congratulations on the book and cover!

  4. #7 by Fiona Phillips on July 1, 2013 - 3:21 pm

    Great new cover. I have shared the link to this article on Twitter, Google+ and on my Facebook writer page. Fingers crossed.

    • #8 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on July 1, 2013 - 7:32 pm

      Thanks, Fiona! Very exciting to have a new outfit. Although it seems to be taking the various platforms a while to catch up. I uploaded it everywhere this morning, but some of the vendors are taking their time to register at the front end.

  5. #9 by Daniel R. Marvello on July 1, 2013 - 5:24 pm

    I think you should release the notebook. People love stuff like that. Give it a cover that matches your theme and promote it as a workbook for NYN. A surprising number of people still write stuff by hand, and an *amazing* number of people want to learn how to outline. Your notebook could help with both, providing helpful NYN tips along the way. Just a thought.

    I shared on Twitter, Fb, and G+.

    • #10 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on July 1, 2013 - 7:33 pm

      Daniel, seriously? It could be fun. Are there any living examples?
      Though I’d have to make ANOTHER cover.

    • #11 by Daniel R. Marvello on July 2, 2013 - 12:26 pm

      I’ve participated in a few discussions on kboards.com where the subject of writing by hand came up. Here’s an example:
      Typing vs. Longhand-what’s your style?
      http://www.kboards.com/index.php/topic,155059.0.html

      As for outlining, our article on that subject is one of the most popular (#4) on our site TheBookConsultant.com. The article is non-fiction oriented, but I believe the interest translates into fiction. It is also one of the few courses we sell regularly on SelfPubU.com.

      The cover for your notebook doesn’t have to be fancy. In fact, you probably want it to follow the theme you’ve created for NYN fairly closely. You definitely want to make it clear that it is a workbook though.

      If you would like to bounce ideas for it off someone, I volunteer my (free) services. I know you have many other things to think about, but I think it would be fun to create an interactive NYN experience.

  6. #12 by Melanie Robertson-King on July 1, 2013 - 6:03 pm

    Shared on twitter (via hootsuite), facebook, google+, tumblr, stumbleupon, Pinterest and linkedin.

  7. #14 by Katie Cross on July 1, 2013 - 6:26 pm

    It definitely funked it up. It looks fantastic! Thanks for all the info and tips!

  8. #16 by Edith on July 1, 2013 - 9:14 pm

    Shared on e-mail, google, facebook and pinterest! It looks fantastic!

  9. #18 by Marni Scofidio on July 1, 2013 - 10:20 pm

    Thanks for heads-up, Roz – I’ll share on Facebook and my Aunty Social blog (tho no one reads it! ;o) All best wishes for your new-look cover

  10. #20 by Robert on July 1, 2013 - 11:15 pm

    Facebooked! (Can only just bear to use that one let alone all the other ones, though I have an account at each of course. De rigeur.)

    Great new cover Roz!

    • #21 by rozmorris @NailYourNovel @ByRozMorris on July 2, 2013 - 9:33 am

      Hey Robert – I know what you mean about some networks being a bit too much. Nothing against them per se, but one only has limited time. Thanks for sharing where you feel most at home.

  11. #22 by Arlene on July 2, 2013 - 12:46 am

    What a smart idea for the ‘dummy’ book and I agree with Daniel, you should make and sell. I think people would buy – especially as a ‘set’. Congrats on new cover – it looks great! BTW, shared via twitter. Have a great one!

  12. #24 by cathysmallwood on July 2, 2013 - 4:13 pm

    Just figured out how to post the link on my blog – my new skill for the day😉
    I vote for the notebook too.

  13. #26 by Marni Scofidio on July 2, 2013 - 10:50 pm

    I’d love to be able to buy one (or several) ‘dummy’ notebooks, too :o) so I vote Aye in flavour, pls count me in.

  14. #28 by Debby Hanoka on July 3, 2013 - 4:45 pm

    Hi! I shared twice: Once on Twitter (from @dhanoka) and once on Facebook (from Debby Hanoka)

  15. #30 by kareninglis on July 3, 2013 - 8:12 pm

    Just tweeted – great idea for not taking it offline🙂

  16. #32 by Don Traverso on July 8, 2013 - 5:55 am

    Just shared on Facebook. Much better cover.

  1. New cover for Nail Your Novel! And FREE stuff…. | Letting Go
  2. The Undercover Soundtrack – Bryan Furuness | My Memories of a Future Life
  3. ‘To draw a curtain around a mental space’ – The Undercover Soundtrack, Bryan Furuness | Nail Your Novel
  4. Alliance of Independent Authors Member News. Bulletin #26 | Self-Publishing Advice
  5. Why literary novels take so long to write | Nail Your Novel
  6. From ‘To do’ to ‘Done’ – confessions of an organised author | Nail Your Novel

Your turn!

