ISBNs: CreateSpace freebie or own ISBN? Pros and cons

tadsonI’ve had this question from Daniel Vertrees, who is making his first print edition, and it turned into a pros and cons discussion so I thought it would make a useful post.

Did you use one of the Createspace ISBN? I want to be able to sell directly (like book signings) and wonder if it is better to buy the ISBN?

A what?

The ISBN is a unique digital identifier for a book (oh here’s the Wiki entry). Traditionally, publishers buy them in batches of between 10 and several thousand, and allocate them to each edition of any book – even ebooks. If you’re UK based you can get them from Nielsen, in the US from Bowker. CreateSpace offers you the option of a free ISBN or you can input one you’ve bought yourself. If you use the other main indie publishing print-on-demand company, Ingram Spark, you need to supply your own ISBN.

Your own ISBN or CreateSpace’s? The pros and cons

There’s a lot of emotional talk about whether you should buy an ISBN or use CS’s. Here are a few myths dispelled.

Doesn’t the book ‘belong’ to CreateSpace if you use their ISBN?

No it doesn’t. It belongs to you. You have the copyright. However, you are restricted about where you can have the book with that ISBN printed. See below.

CreateSpace will be seen as the publisher of record.

Yes it will. I’m not sure this makes any difference to individual buyers who are browsing for your book. If they’re trawling down the book details, liking what they see, they’re unlikely to screech to a horrified halt if they see it’s published by CreateSpace. They probably won’t notice.

However, the CreateSpace name may deter booksellers from ordering. But that’s not because the name is associated with Beelzebub Bezos, self-publishing or any other giant imaginary stigma. It’s because CreateSpace’s distribution terms (through Expanded Distribution) are not as favourable as Ingram Spark (Lightning Source for indies). CreateSpace discounts are not as competitive and delivery times are not as swift.

However 2

In the past, indie authors who published via Lightning Source (now Ingram Spark, remember) found their books sometimes showed ‘out of stock’ notices on Amazon. This has caused much hair-tearing, and mumblings that the big corporations were having some kind of squabble with publishers caught in the middle.

So now, many indies are now buying their own ISBN, printing through CreateSpace to sell on Amazon, then printing the same book (with the same ISBN, remember) to distribute everywhere else. Best of both worlds.

It all sounds good – except for the cost of ISBNs. In some countries they’re free, in which case you’re laughing. In countries where they are not, you’re not laughing. From Nielsen, you’re looking at £144 for 10. The unit cost is lower if you buy 100 (£342) but that’s rather too painful for me. Allocating ISBNs used to be a big administrative faff (I used to fill in the publisher’s forms when I was in charge of an editorial department) but now it could surely be automated and free. Don’t get me started, but I’d rather use that money for something that would benefit the reader, such as better cover art. Also, publishing on Ingram has a cost too, they charge for changes and the set-up is more challenging.

More on expanded distribution

1 So far, all my print titles have used CreateSpace ISBNs. Despite the distribution factors, this doesn’t stop me getting bulk orders every month for the Nail Your Novels. I can’t tell where they’re going, but they are being bought in bulk, somewhere. Maybe I’d get more bulk orders if I had my own ISBN and an Ingram version. Who knows?

2 According to Bowker:

Without an ISBN, you will not be found in most bookstores, whether online, or down the street from your house. Buying an ISBN is your first step to insure that your book is not lost in the wilderness.

This is true, of course. But even if books are on databases, and available at competitive rates, they sell zip without publicity. Bookstores get some of their stock because customers ask for it. But much of their speculative stock is books they order because they are featured in the wholesalers’ magazines, which is arranged by publishers’ marketing departments, or because a publisher’s rep called. So even with a shiny Bowker-or-Nielsen ISBN, the world is not your oyster. How much of a publicity campaign can you mount? Put another way, without a shiny Bowker-or-Nielsen ISBN you may not be missing very many sales because getting noticed is the most difficult thing of all. (Sorry.)

Short version, please

Sorry, Daniel. If you’re getting your paperback made for Amazon sales and direct hand sales, a CreateSpace ISBN will be fine. Certainly if you’re new to making books, use CreateSpace as your training wheels. Also, there’s nothing to stop you making a new version with your own ISBN, and uploading to CreateSpace and Ingram later on. You can change the CreateSpace settings to take your book off expanded distribution, so that the copy that reaches catalogues is on bookseller-friendly Ingram. You can also, if you have a really neat mind, disable the old CreateSpace listing by making the book unprintable, which takes new copies off sale although the old listing will remain.

As for me, I usually use the Createspace ISBNs. But I’m trying a new tack for the plot book. I’ve made a deal with a small publisher to put the book out with their ISBN. They get the book for their catalogue, I do everything else. I’m initially printing through CreateSpace, then seeing if a non-CS ISBN printed with Ingram Spark will give me any advantage. It would be nice if I could eat my pessimistic words about ISBNs. I shall report.🙂

Thanks for the printing press pic Tadson 

plotglowThe ebook of Writing Plots With Drama, Depth and Heart: Nail Your Novel is now available on pre-order. It will go on live sale on Twelfth Night, 5th January, and if you order beforehand you can get a special pre-order price.
‘On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love sent to me… Twelve drummers drumming, eleven pipers piping, ten lords….’ Is that too complicated for an opening scene?

Anything further to add? The Createspace/Ingram universe is changing all the time, the ISBN issue is one of the most divisive in the indie world – so comments and further discussions will be welcome!

 

 

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Franz E. on December 30, 2014 - 6:29 pm

    good tips. We have a discussion about the issue of ebook publishing on linked in #What is your experience on ebook editing?”. I put this post there. hope you agree on it. Best 2015

    • #2 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 30, 2014 - 7:42 pm

      All the best to you too, Franz. I went to your site, couldn’t understand a word – but noticed Jose Saramago in big letters, which is no bad thing to find. I guess we’re kindred spirits. Happy 2015 to you too.

      • #3 by Franz E. on December 30, 2014 - 8:17 pm

        what do you mean by kindred? Well we can translate it. Best to you. good luck 2015

  2. #4 by authorangelachristinaarcher on December 30, 2014 - 6:39 pm

    Great timing as I was just about to go online and order my block of 10 ISBN numbers. lol. I am choosing this option, however, because I’m publishing my titles under my house name, Long Valley Press. I still am trying to figure out if I should go through CreateSpace or Ingram Spark. Both of my titles available were published through a publisher, so doing it all on my own is new to me. Hmm… Thanks for the info!!🙂 Happy New Year!!

  3. #6 by raulconde001 on December 30, 2014 - 7:02 pm

    Using ISBN is not as simple as I thought. I see that that most authors use ISBN for their reasons. I better watch out for its cons. I’ve never heard of CS-ISBN though. Do they do it for magazines as well?

  4. #9 by Michael W. Perry on December 30, 2014 - 7:43 pm

    Supply your own ISBN, like I do, and your Createspace edition can’t get expanded distribution. That’s no big deal if you’ve opted for the far wider distribution of Lightning Source/Ingram Spark.

    There’s a major advantage to supplying your own single ISBN to both. It creates a master ISBN that anyone can use to find your book. Have separate ISBNs for Createspace and Ingram, and they may not find it.

    The price of ISBNs from Bowker has become ridiculous. When I bought mine in 1999, I could get 100 for $400 and 1000 for $600. “Ten times as many for only 50% more,” I thought, as I went for the thousand. At the time, with POD my only distribution mechanism, it looked like that 1000 would last forever and them some. Recently each book has meant four ISBNs:

    1. Print paperback for Lightning Source and Createspace. They get the same interior PDF and slightly different covers due to different spine widths. You have to look on the last page to tell them apart. The Createspace edition is printed in Charleston, SC.

    2. An epub edition for the iBookstore.

    3. A epub-becomes-mobi edition for Kindles. Amazon does the conversion, so Amazon has to live with the results. Amazon should work with Adobe to add Kindle export to InDesign. Then they’d get better results.

    4. An epub edition for Smashwords which goes to everyone else. Smashwords needs to get more into epub distribution. Not everyone uses Word for Windows. I wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole.

    If theses ISBNs didn’t cost me essentially nothing (60 cents each), I might dole them out less generously. But as done above, each version that is likely to look different has its own ISBN.

    And from now on, there’ll be a 5th ISBN with each title, a fixed-format epub for the iBookstore. I’ve not checked, but I’m hoping the iBookstore’s new bundling option will let me sell both formats at one price. Reflowable epub for iPhones and fixed-format for iPads. The latter will look identical to the print edition and should be great for textbooks.

    –Michael W. Perry, Inkling Books, co-author of Lily’s Ride

    • #10 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 31, 2014 - 9:03 am

      Hi Michael! A comprehensive answer – thank you! I was curious to know if LS and CS used the same paper and whether that would impact on the spine width. You’ve clarified that.
      Incidentally, you can get expanded distribution with a non-CS ISBN. The only distribution I wasn’t offered was libraries. But if I make an LS edition, I’ll untick the expanded distribution options on CS.

      Your remark about ‘findability’ with the one ISBN is interesting. In the past, the ISBN was just about the only way to search for a book. But these days we have Google, and people are just as likely to search by author name, or to try and track down the magazine or blog they heard about the book on. This makes the ISBN a bit less essential than the governing agencies would like to think…

  5. #11 by Author Unpublished on December 30, 2014 - 9:30 pm

    Reblogged this on Author Unpublished.

  6. #12 by DRMarvello on December 30, 2014 - 9:48 pm

    We got started back when self publishing meant POD through Lightning Source, so we got in the habit of using ISBNs. After Amazon stopped drop-shipping through LSI and introduced the shipping delays on Amazon.com, we started doing what you mentioned: we publish through CS for Amazon.com only and through LSI to all others. We get the book through the proof process at CS because it doesn’t cost anything to make changes and ordering a physical proof is cheaper. We publish through LSI once we approve the CS proof.

    When we started publishing ebooks, we realized that the entire purpose of ISBNs, which is managing distribution, no longer applied. Ebook distribution is mostly decentralized (Smashwords and D2D notwithstanding), with all the biggest vendors having their own portal for direct book uploads. We don’t have an Ingram or Baker & Taylor calling the distribution shots in the digital world. On Amazon, our mobi edition get an ASIN, which is close enough to an ISBN for us. The mobi only lives within the Amazon ecosystem anyway. We do assign an ISBN to our EPUB edition because that edition potentially gets distributed to multiple retailers. Right now, the distributor is us, but if we were to start using a third-party ebook distributor, it would be nice to have a single product identifier that links the book back to our publishing company through the Bowker database. Nice, but not essential.

    All that said, I would probably give the same advice that you did. Go with free ISBNs until you find a compelling reason to get your own. You can always release a new edition of your title with your own ISBN later, should it become necessary. For most people, that will probably never happen.

    • #13 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 31, 2014 - 9:06 am

      Hi Daniel! I knew you’d have some good advice to add here, as you have in the past. The situation is always changing so it’s interesting to see your views, as always. Happy new year!

  7. #14 by Daniel R. Vertrees on December 30, 2014 - 9:49 pm

    Wow. That is one helluva yes/no answer. Thanks so much for the response. Hope it didn’t take you too far from what you were doing. CA seems yo have $99 version that is more relaxed. Maybe that is just in US.
    Thanks again Roz.

    • #15 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 31, 2014 - 9:08 am

      HI Daniel – glad it helped!
      But whoa, stop! Don’t buy ONE ISBN for $99. On a cost-per-unit basis, that’s the worst deal of all. You mention you’re working on a second book – so you’d probably need another, and another. Get 10, where the unit cost will be £14 (I don’t know what that is in dollars, but it won’t be $99).

  8. #16 by Janet B on December 30, 2014 - 10:20 pm

    I think that it would be a decision of dollars and cents, if you think to sell many with expanded distribution.
    http://www.selfpublishingadvice.org/watchdog-ingram-spark-vs-createspace-for-self-publishing-print-books/

  9. #17 by mrobertsonking on December 30, 2014 - 11:16 pm

    I live in Canada and was able to get my ISBN free from Library and Archives Canada. You have to register with the LAC and wait to be approved but that doesn’t take long.

  10. #19 by evanatiello on December 31, 2014 - 1:53 am

    I bought the $99. ISBN from Createspace which allowed me to use my own imprint (so Createspace is not the publisher) and I can use that ISBN to also distribute through Ingram Spark, which I did because bookstores told me they would not order my book because even though I had expanded distribution (through Createspace) the discounts were terrible and they’d lose money by ordering my book. Ingram Spark offers the standard industry discounts and returnability (which most book stores will not order without so there’s no risk to them if your book doesn’t sell. So buy the $99. version (which is a slight savings) and distribute with both Createspace and Ingram Spark if you want to sell on Amazon and other online retailers and bookstores. Good luck!

    • #20 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 31, 2014 - 9:11 am

      Thanks for explaining how the CS ISBN works and your reasoning behind it. It’s certainly interesting to see the response you had from booksellers.
      I think, though, that $99 is not a good deal if you’re going to publish more than one book – which in the fullness of time, most people are.
      Best of luck with yours!

  11. #21 by James Minter on December 31, 2014 - 11:03 am

    Ros, I’ve just purchased 100 ISBN’s from Nielsen’s and created a micro-publishing company MPL for my own books. I’m going through all the loops you talk about in you post but what you haven’t mentioned is by pulling your existing CS book and reissuing it with your own ISBN all reviews will disappear. OR, and this is the bit I found very interesting in what you say, if you disable the book in CS as opposed to retire it, the book is in permanent limbo so will stay listed including reviews, (I assume) but marked as out of stock. Is this your understanding /experience?

    • #22 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 31, 2014 - 5:40 pm

      Hi James!
      This story of mine might help. I have experience of changing a book title, which I did with the characters Nail Your Novel. I renamed it for better SEO. I changed the title on the Kindle file with no problem – all reviews remained. Then I tried to change the CreateSpace version, but the title was keyed to the ISBN so my only option was to create a new book. I couldn’t remove the old title, so I disabled it, meaning the listing is there but it can’t be ordered except from a second-hand dealer. (One of the second-hand dealers is me, BTW, as I have some stock copies just in case. I occasionally get orders for it!)
      I questioned Amazon about it, and they were happy to link the new paperback with the new Kindle version. The Kindle version kept all the reviews, the two paperbacks seemed to get the reviews split between them. Also, people still find their way to the old paperback, probably from old posts, so it actually serves me quite well to have them all there.
      Clear as mud?!

      • #23 by James Minter on December 31, 2014 - 5:53 pm

        That’s quite encouraging really. I thought Amazon might get sniffy and not play ball. I’ll plough on with my plan. Also I was thinking of asking people who left the original reviews to copy and paste them into the new book. Taking both approaches should mean I end up with some at least. Thanks

  12. #24 by stephzia on December 31, 2014 - 2:42 pm

    Hi, Roz, I’ve dipped my toe in, getting 10 UK Nielsen ISBNs & putting a few titles up. Is it worth it? Perhaps not… The UK royalties on all titles have suddenly dropped substantially, it must be an exchange rate thing. The margins are tight anyway because the prices have to be higher to factor in the bookstore discount so a title that was scheduled to bring in £2.17 royalty is now bringing in an 08p royalty. Another title scheduled for release tomorrow was on a tight £1.27 royalty but that has now converted to an 84p LOSS on each transaction. My only option is to go back and start again with a smaller font to lower the page count, re-engage the graphics person to resize the cover etc. etc. Graaah!

    • #25 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on December 31, 2014 - 5:35 pm

      Hi Stephanie! Nice to see you here. That sounds painful. Where are the royalties dropping? Createspace, Lightning Source? And does an exchange rate fluctuation really account for a drop from £2.17 to 8p????? This might be something a lot of us need to know about….. do explain more if you have time!

  13. #26 by stephzia on December 31, 2014 - 7:37 pm

    Hi again – Sorry, this is with IngramSpark. It was a bit of a shock & something I wouldn’t have noticed if I hadn’t gone back in to update an up-coming title. I’m assuming exchange rate must be the case, I’m waiting to hear back from them, & will let you know. I still publish the titles with CreateSpace where the royalty margins are more generous, but have to price the books higher so that they match the IngramSpark prices. Another potential cost factor if you publish in the UK with a Nielsen ISBN is the legal requirement to deposit 5 copies of the book with the British Library. They are just switching to digital, however, and, are open for applications. They have accepted my ePubs with a Smashwords ISBN, which is a relief…

    • #27 by stephzia on January 1, 2015 - 10:00 am

      Yup, their response is in “The compensation could change minimally due to currency fluctuations.”

    • #28 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on January 2, 2015 - 10:10 am

      Thanks for the reminder about the British Library! Though I thought the legal requirement was 2 copies, not 5. What a good job they take e-copies.

  14. #29 by M.H. Vesseur on January 1, 2015 - 4:37 pm

    Funny how this topic gets so little attention; it’s a good thing you’re bringing facts and opinions together here. Like James Minter here, I’ve bought ISBNs through my own firm, which means there will never be any misunderstanding in the future if anything changes at CreateSpace. They cost 9 euros here (approximately) but I believe you need to take the matter into your own hands and not rely on these external ISBNs. Up above among the comments are reasons galore, I’d say. I’d like to mention Warren Adler here, best selling author of The War of the Roses and some forty more novels, who bought back all his publishing rights ten years ago from a whole series of publishing houses, so that he could push his catalog again. Take matters into your own hands, was (and still is) his message. Another reason to be sceptical is the fact that CreateSpace is an American business. If you’re not in America, you may be facing problems in the future if laws or other things change. Buying your own ISBNs is a basic investment, also because the ISBN will last a lifetime. It can not be deleted; even if you switch to another ISBN later, it will remain on record.

    • #30 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on January 2, 2015 - 10:14 am

      Hi Martin! Yes, Warren Adler is an inspiration, isn’t he? You’re right about taking control as much as possible – which is what indie publishing is about.
      However, I don’t think we have to be fearful of anything ‘happening’ to CreateSpace ISBNs. They are ISBNs like all the other ISBNs. They’ll have been bought from Bowker, they’ll still function as ISBNs once they’ve been put into the publishing ecosystem by being assigned to a book.
      Incidentally, which country are you writing from?

      • #31 by M.H. Vesseur on January 2, 2015 - 3:47 pm

        There’s no doubt about this post becoming a “Complete Library on ISBN” in the near future. Lot’s of great answers and insights and facts. I am going to perm link this right into my Don’t Forget List. In reply to your question: I am writing from Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Apparently the ISBNs are affordable here, let’s hope it stays that way. I’m very happy Amazon has finally opened up Amazon.nl, the local store, although all my work is published in English up to now, so I’m not really bound to The Netherlands. If I do any translations, it’ll probably be Japan (but that’s a whole different story). Keep up the good work!

        • #32 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on January 2, 2015 - 7:45 pm

          Japanese translations? You speak Japanese …. (squinting at your picture to make sure……)

          • #33 by M.H. Vesseur on January 3, 2015 - 2:20 pm

            Actually I’m Dutch… It so happened that the sidekick of my Radio Detective (7 novels by now) is Japanese producer Hitomi Sakamoto, and she is getting her own spinoff series because she spontaeously grew into this ass-kicking powerhouse of a woman. That explains the “Japanese ambition”.

  15. #34 by tomburkhalter on January 1, 2015 - 5:07 pm

    Hi, Roz, thanks for this post! The whole “to ISBN, or not to ISBN issue” is angst-riddled — mostly because the cost of buying your own ISBN here in the States is $125. So, spend the $125 I don’t have to own my ISBN, or let CreateSpace issue one for free? Hm. I think I’ll go with your “training wheels” analogy for now. Makes sense to me!

    Then I went back and looked at the Comments. This is really the kind of nuts-and-bolts discussion that is VERY helpful indeed to newbies who (like myself) are still struggling with the business end of writing.

    Happy New Year and best of luck in 2015!

  16. #36 by James Minter on January 2, 2015 - 10:48 am

    Sorry Roz but on the point of the British library – it you produce a paperback, a hardback, an audio book, an ebook and say a large print edition all will have a unique ISBN but is it necessary to supply the British Library with 5 x copies of each???

  17. #37 by stephzia on January 2, 2015 - 2:22 pm

    Hi James, I received a letter (in the post!) from the ALDL, Agency for the Legal Deposit Libraries, Edinburgh asking for 5 print copies, stating it was a legal deposit claim on behalf of the Legal Deposit Libraries: Bodlean Oxford, Cambridge University Library, National Library of Scotland, National LIbrary of Wales and Trinity College Dublin in accordance with the Legal Deposit Libraries Act 2003…. these claims are in addition to any similar claim made by the British Library… So it seems, Roz, there could be requests to follow for 2 more from the British Library… They provided a link to follow to switch to a digital provision which is http://www.legaldeposit.org.uk/index.html

    • #38 by James Minter on January 2, 2015 - 3:01 pm

      I know you need multiple copies but my question is about the variations from the paperback – do they also want x number of copies of each of them …?

  18. #41 by Will Overby on January 2, 2015 - 3:43 pm

    As a US-based author, I always use the $10 ISBN option with CreateSpace. It allows me to use my own imprint name rather than CreateSpace, and I can go through expanded distribution.

    • #42 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on January 2, 2015 - 7:47 pm

      Will, I didn’t know there was a $10 ISBN option for CreateSpace. What’s the difference between that and the $99 option Daniel was writing about?

    • #43 by DRMarvello on January 2, 2015 - 8:54 pm

      CS offers four ISBN options: free, $10, $99, and “use your own.” This page describes the implications of each one in detail…
      https://www.createspace.com/Products/Book/ISBNs.jsp

      In summary:
      * Free shows CS as the publisher and you can’t use the ISBN anywhere else.
      * $10 shows you as the publisher, but you can’t use the ISBN anywhere else.
      * $99 shows you as the publisher, and you *can* use the ISBN elsewhere. (This is equivalent to buying a single ISBN from Bowker for $125.)
      * Supply your own is just what it sounds like.

      • #44 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on January 3, 2015 - 8:45 am

        Lordy, why would you pay them $10 just to get a different name as the publisher? It doesn’t address the real problem. Still, they must get some takers. Author beware. Thanks for that, Daniel.

  19. #45 by jennifermzeiger on January 9, 2015 - 9:14 pm

    Wow. So many little details I never imagined about publishing. As always, thanks for covering this Roz. =)

  20. #47 by Carrie-Anne on January 10, 2015 - 3:14 am

    I’ve been buying my ISBNs from the Canadian IndieBookLauncher. It’s only $25 for a block of five for each book. I refuse to support Bowker’s monopoly on ISBNs and their ridiculous prices, which I’m shocked are legal. It’s totally legal to buy your ISBNs from IndieBookLauncher, and they offer a number of other services as well (editing, cover design, formatting, etc.).

    • #48 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on January 10, 2015 - 8:09 am

      That’s interesting, Carrie Anne. I agree with you about Bowker’s and Nielsen’s prices. I once tackled them about it when I was asked to speak at an event, and asked them why they charged so much. They refused to comment and they really didn’t like being called on it. In the past, there was probably good reason as it would have been a lot of admin for them, but there’s no reason why it should be now. Furthermore, I told them, in front of an audience, that they had an asset they could make money on instead – data about where books were, how many were published etc. Data is business these days. And if they made their ISBNs free, everyone would use them and they would have complete data – which would be even more valuable. There was one guy in the audience, a consultant to libraries, who agreed with me, and everyone else wanted to skewer me with a pitchfork.

      So you get yours from IndieBookLauncher! Presumably you’re not in Canada yourself as you’d get them free anyway. Do you have to buy anything else from IndieBookLauncher or can you get just the ISBN?

  21. #49 by Kristi Bernard on January 11, 2015 - 6:21 am

    Reblogged this on The Neophyte Writer and commented:
    A little food for thought for the new year.

  22. #50 by Anthony Ally on February 18, 2015 - 10:26 pm

    Thanks for the article. A friend of mind has 4 books written recently and already had them printed overseas. Does CS allow their ISBN to be used on the printed books if we give them the digital option or is it best to buy isbn from another source?

    • #51 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on February 18, 2015 - 11:32 pm

      Hi Anthony! You can print with CreateSpace using a non-CreateSpace ISBN, provided you own the ISBN. So if your friend has used an ISBN they bought, they can print it anywhere they like, CS included. But beware – if your friend used an author services company, for instance, the ISBN might come with restrictions. Check terms and conditions.
      And CS has nothing to do with the digital side, although on the dashboard they offer to convert your book to Kindle. I wouldn’t tick that box, as it won’t be as clean as if you get the book formatted properly for Kindle and then upload it.

  23. #52 by Anthony Ally on February 18, 2015 - 11:57 pm

    Thank you kindly Roz. Seems the Canadian option gives full freedom to sell in United States and everywhere else.

    Only confusing part was Carrie-Anne’s great recommendation when she said “t’s only $25 for a block of five for each book”. Not sure what she meant by block of 5 for each book?

    Noticed Bowker tried to sell me extra ‘upgrade’ for only 2 barcodes on purchase of 10 when seems it is available for free on sites such as http://www.bookow.com/ .

    Am I right or are there hidden reasons for paying extra for Bowker and their upgrades?

  1. Top Picks Thursday 01-08-2015 | The Author Chronicles
  2. Indie authors: are you making these mistakes with your print books? | Nail Your Novel
  3. Print options and free books: two of my own rules I’m breaking this year… | Nail Your Novel

Your turn!

