‘Writers are introverts who want to tell you a story but not make eye contact’: discuss. Interview at Jane Davis

The above statement is from John Green, author of The Fault In Our Stars. It’s an interesting jump-off point to discuss some of the paradoxes of the writing temperament – quiet people who are expressive; private people who want to draw you into a deep experience.

Today I’m at Jane Davis’s Virtual Book Club blog, discussing this and a few other matters. Although we also cover the origin story of Not Quite Lost, which many of you already know, we soon get on to plenty of other talk. And Jane is celebrating a big birthday this week, so if you’re quick, you can take advantage of a special offer she’s running on her own books. Step this way. Don’t be shy.

Save

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by norwoodpages on October 27, 2017 - 7:38 pm

    I think this statement speaks for a lot working in a creative field. Even in my own profession, engineering, I see a lot of this too (yes, I’ll be the first to say engineering is a very creative field). To me, though, it’s a good form of selfishness and bodes well for being an introvert, which I consider to be. But, the stigma is that introverts are anti-social. Meaning, that they don’t like people, which is the furthest from the truth. For me, it’s more a comfort thing. I’d rather take a vacation to a deserted island, or camping i the woods to be alone, than going to New York City. I can easily talk to others, but I don’t seek it out, unless it has a specific purpose. It’s the same reason I am mostly quiet, but can then ramble forever given the right topic. Hence, I write a lot since I let my thoughts stay locked in my head.

    • #2 by Roz Morris @Roz_Morris on October 27, 2017 - 9:51 pm

      Hello David! Thanks for pointing that out – introverts aren’t necessarily antisocial, they just sometimes need quiet. A pause. Space. And maybe an empty page. Thanks for stopping by.

Your turn!

