41 thoughts on “Critiquing a friend’s book… how do you tell them it doesn’t work?

  1. I don’t know if this helps, but Martin Amis’s latest novel is a complete rewrite of a first draft that he produced (and junked) in 2005. So sometimes writers have to do that soul-searching and rethinking for themselves. In other words, writing is rewriting.

  2. I understand the question completely….but I honestly do not know!
    Sometimes I have read books published through publishing houses and I thought they were awful. I am not sure what the publisher saw in them. I recently read a blogger’s self-published book and was lost for words at how much I disliked the story and how confusing and choppy it was.
    But that frightens me about my own books. Maybe they are terrible and all my friends and family are being too nice to me.

    1. I am right there with you, Caramel! Books indeed can be so subjective. I absolutely hate some of the “bestsellers,” while wondering why some people have not been published yet.

      As far as your book is concerned, I would recommend being honest with yourself. Read your book as if it was someone else’s.

  3. Roz, after my editor line-edited my first draft, he told me it was a practice book. Now, rewrite it and apply what you learned. New plot & scene ideas came to me right away. I’m into the third edit (working with a screenwriter). We edit each other’s work and brainstorm three hours by phone once a week. When I’m finished, it will go back to my editor for an analysis. This is my first novel (historical fiction) and I want it to be the best it can be.

    Developmental editing has an edge at the beginning. The new writer needs to know up front you are developing the story with the writer, and keeping him/her moving the story forward. What slows the story down has to go. With my editor’s line-editing, I learned basically the same. He told me it was a good story, good characters, good dialogue, and I had most all the elements in it. But then there were things to work on. I took his critique seriously. Editors are worth the money. 📚🎶 Christine

    1. Christine, what you describe here is the joy of editing and the joy of learning, while making a work that matters to you and you want to be proud of. I certainly agree that editors are worth the money, but then I would say that…

  4. Giving honest feedback to a friend can be difficult. I would ask why they asked YOU for opinion. Is it because you always cheered them on so they are hoping for validation? Or is it because they see you as an expert in that area? Based on the answer, feedback can be created. Of course it should be honest.

    1. Sam, you’ve identified an interesting aspect here! Validation can be a very important factor, especially for a book that might feel very personal, or might represent a brave step for the author. All critiquers have to tread sensitively.

  5. This is hard. In the handful of times I’ve been in this situation, my response has depended upon the writer friend I’m working with. When my little cousin sent me a short story she’d written for her high school English class and asked for my feedback, I could have told her to scrap the whole thing because of foundational issues one through n, but of course I didn’t. I found the positives, offered some constructive nudges toward important realizations, and ended with more positive. That’s of course a very specific case, but I think it’s representative of the fact that our response to a writer asking for feedback should be contingent upon the progress of that writer in his or her particular journey. Or maybe I’m just being too soft on my cousin. Maybe the Simon Cowell approach would have been better 😀

  6. These are excellent tips Roz, being straight, and focusing on the positives and the gruel of being a writer are good feedback. But, if it were me, I wouldn’t have accepted the job. 🙂

  7. Someone I met at a writers conference asked me to read her novel she self-published on the internet. The start wasn’t that good. Then for no particular reason, all of chapter 3 was bold. Then the bold turned off again. Just one of those things.

  8. Honest feedback is so valuable and hard to find. It’s hard but I think people who know you also know if you’re looking for just praise or if you’re hoping for help in the craft. Great post, Roz.

  9. I definitely find this post helpful. Thank you for sharing it. I’m sort of in this position now, but the author is well established with multiple books. This new book (already published) happens to be very different. What’s more, most of the other readers have rated it highly and I ended up hating it. This totally turns me off to reading and reviewing books for friends anymore due to the stress, but I’m going to be honest and hope for the best. Thanks again for the post.

Your turn!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.