Interviews · Uncategorized

Me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me

I have the great honour to have been given the Sunshine Award and the Fabulous Sugar Doll Blogger Award, both by Catherine Andrako of A Thousand Clapping Hands. Catherine, thank you! Catherine is an artist and a former dancer, creative to her last twirling atom, and I urge you to check out her site of ‘Art, Letters, Visual Delights and Strange Coincidences’.

Footnote: I also got a nomination from Roberta McDonnell of the divinely named Subliminal Spaces, so a heartfelt ‘thanks’ goes to her too.

 As with most awards, there must now be speeches and games. For the Sugar Doll I have to tell you 10 interesting things about myself.

I once volunteered for an experiment in ESP. I sat in a room and was told to close my eyes and think of nothing while someone in another room beamed thoughts at me. A researcher put wires on my head to record my brain patterns and see if any communication was taking place. To help me zone out he put a swirly mandala on the wall and played me white noise through headphones.

Honestly, I tried to think of nothing but it was just like an episode of The Avengers. Brainwashing, EEGs, far eastern symbols; and all in a leafy suburb of London.

With some difficulty, I locked in on the husky hiss in my headphones.

After a while I began to hear voices. Inside my head. Very faint, but definitely people talking.

Eureka, was this ESP? I heard the crackly whisper of a jingle, and then … was that Bon Jovi’s Living on a Prayer? It was Radio 1. Being picked up on the 30 metres of unshielded headphone cable from the white noise generator in the next room.

And so I went on for half an hour. Trying not to notice things that would obviously spoil the game, being sucked into busy diversions and then remembering I was meant to be relaxing. When my time was up, the researcher showed me my results unhappily. ‘This is what your brain waves should have looked like,’ he said, and pointed to some sleepy undulations along the bottom of a graph. ‘And this is you.’ He showed me a frantic jagged line like a seismograph about to freak.

‘You know your equipment is picking up Radio 1?’ I said.

‘No one else has heard it,’ he muttered, and I was out on my ear.

This probably tells you a few interesting-ish things about me.

1. I simply can’t ‘think of nothing’.

2. When I was a child I wanted to be in The Avengers, getting up to peculiar derring-do in leafy parts of London.

3. At college I was in a band. So I know that long cables can pick up the radio.

4. I love using things for an unintended purpose, which is why I remember things like #3.

5. I can never resist an adventure to add to the writing diary, which is why I answered the advert to take part in the ESP experiment.

6. I like living in London because it’s the best place in England to find these sort of adventures. Although I have tried not to ruin anyone else’s experiments.

7. My best adventure was the time I turned up for a dance class at Pineapple Studios and found a film crew holding auditions.

8. I’m not good at right and left. And I took up dance just four years ago. But I decided what the heck.

9. To my utter astonishment I was hired. For two weeks of night rehearsals in a deserted station, I was a professional dancer.

10. As with all properly given awards, there should now be a musical interlude. This is what my friends were all scrutinizing, trying to spot me. Honestly, I’m there somewhere.

Speeches done. Now there’s the serious business of the onward nominations. I’m going to pass both awards on together, as Catherine did. I have to nominate 12 recipients, which isn’t nearly enough as I want to thank all of you who comment, encourage and spur me on, and the even wider circle whose blogs I regularly enjoy – as evidenced by the list on the right. But here goes – and don’t forget to leave me a comment with a link to your 10 answers, if you have the energy to do them.

Cat Woods at Words from the Woods

Paul Greci’s Northwriter

Natalie Whipple’s Between Fact and Fiction

Suzy Hayze’s Tales of Extraordinary Ordinariness

John Simpson’s Running After My Hat

Darcy Pattison’s Fiction Notes

Janna Qualman’s Something She Wrote

KM Weiland’s Wordplay

Jon Paul’s Where Sky Meets Ground

Maribeth Graham’s Writing Like Crazy

Jane Kennedy Sutton Jane’s Ride

Catherine Ryan Howard’s Catherine, Caffeinated

24 thoughts on “Me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me

  1. Oh my! You are too, too kind. Love your blog and Nail Your Novel so right back at ya!
    I was actually talked into doing a 10 things.. post a couple of weeks back which, as I’ve pretty much smeared the innermost details of my life across my blog already, I had to call 10 Things You Don’t Already Know About Me (Maybe). You can read it here:http://catherineryanhoward.com/2010/02/10/10-things-you-dont-know-about-me-maybe/ THANKS SO MUCH! x

  2. I saw a lot of myself in you. I definitely cannot think of nothing either. I was with friends a while back and one kept throwing out all of these scenario’s. For each scenario he gave, I had an answer. He said, “You know when you try to think of the craziest things and then tell someone else to think of them?”
    “Yeah.” answers his wife.
    “Usually people have to take a moment to ponder what you said. Why is it that Mar always spits out an answer like she was waiting for you to present her with that question?”
    “Because that is how Mar thinks all of the time.”

    I was amused. They are absolutely right, my mind is never quiet.

    Thanks for including me, I feel giddy. I will put up a list today on my blog.

    P.S. I love your blog.

  3. Thanks for the awards! I’m honored to be included. I’ll try to come up with something about me by Monday which is when I plan to do my next post. By the way, I enjoyed the video. It made me want to stand up and dance!

    1. Guys, thank YOU so much! I was a bit afraid of boring you all…
      @Cath – I will check out your 10 confessions with great interest.
      @Maribeth – I love that line, ‘like she was waiting for you to ask that question’. I so get that!
      @Jane – get down on it!
      @Paul @Katie – *snort!*

  4. Oh, nuts. Now I suppose I actually have to write something that won’t give people whiplash when they follow your link and say, “Huh?!?” 🙂

    Thank you so much, Roz. I’ll stop back here when I’ve got something!

    The Avengers, wow. About 20-30 years ago, a US cable network showed the entire run of the show, dating back to the earliest black-and-white episodes when Steed was paired with another man, of all things. I taped every single one, and logged them all into a database whose contents I duly printed out for easy reference.

    A couple years later I got a book called (I think) The Complete Avengers, with some background essays and capsule summaries of (I think) all episodes.

    By a couple years after that, the tapes had begun their electronic decline. Curses. (I’ve only got a couple of boxed DVD sets so far — both (naturally) from the Mrs. Peel days.)

    Always loved the gimmicks, the sense of adventure, and of course the wry byplay among the characters (at least when the writers weren’t trying too hard to be “whimsical”). I’ve known lots of guys who might have fantasized about being in the show’s “world,” but you’re the first woman I know of.

    “Ms. Morris, we’re needed.”

  5. Okay, first I have to say, again, that you are amazing! Your musical interlude was the bomb. I only wish I could find you in it.

    Secondly, thanks for the award. I feel honored having it come from you. I will post about it tomorrow.

    1. @Janna @Cat My pleasure! Cat, I’m on some of the rehearsal vids on Youtube and on some different cuts they showed in stations around London. And one night I was straphanging on the Tube, in a world of my own, when I realised in front of me was a poster of the ad – with me doing a swan dive to My Boy Lollipop. My squeak of recognition alarmed the whole carriage.
      @JES I have to admit it took a little research, my memory isn’t as good as yours, or so recently refreshed. But your stylish sign-off deserved a proper response.

  6. After the success in Britain of the new Dr Who, I wonder that ITV don’t reboot The Avengers. Though I can’t for the life of me see who would replace the totally inimitable Patrick Macnee.

  7. Pingback: Awards Season
  8. Roz, btw, I have to say: I was incredibly envious of your title for this post. Perfection! (Not that I ever would have come up with it myself, but dang, I wish I did…)

    Dave: Yes, replacing Steed would be the problem, wouldn’t it? I never saw the film, but I gather Ralph Fiennes did justice to neither himself nor the character! I’m afraid when it came time to cast a new show, they’d go the pop-idol route and call in somebody like Jude Law. Grrrr.

  9. @JES – or they’d go all Hollywood on it and cast George Clooney, with Uma Thurman as Mrs Peel. Oh no, wait, Uma Thurman actually did play Mrs Peel. She wasn’t too bad, actually. At least it seemed like she understood the distinctive Avengers style of humour, which nobody else involved did. But don’t seek out the movie on that account – you haven’t seen it; let it stay that way. And I must say I envy you.

  10. Congrats on the awards! How cool that you heard radio waves during the test. I think it proves you have a different brain than most–what a compliment! Every writer should. (Love the video! May have to watch it again!)

  11. Wow Roz!

    Congrats on your award, and thanks a million for sharing the love! It’s nice to be appreciated.

    Happy to be home so I can catch up on all the goings on over at your place too!

  12. Wonderful post Roz, congratulations on your double whammy and thanks too for including me in the post – and what a fabulous story – I’m still laughing at Bon Jovi on Radio 1 and the poor serious researcher – I worked in research for years and know how *Serious* some people can get! Your pinch of salt humour is like a breath of fresh air (sorry, terrrible mixed metaphor…cringe). Following up all your leads as well, so thrilled 🙂 thanks again, Roberta.

      1. Hi Roz, very welcome , yes It’s great to find so many people out there writing about their thoughts and experiences and likewise of course re the leads to more blogs from yours – ripple effect 🙂

Your turn!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.