How to write a book · My Memories of a Future Life

‘Highly original, delivered with aplomb’ – pick of the month at Multi-Story

My Memories of a Future Life is pick of the month at the Multi-Story blog – and here’s the bragging screen grab to prove it. They described it as ‘haunting and compelling… a novel that stays with you long after  reading’ – which was rather nice. You’ll also find, if you go there, a piece from my archives on the difference between writing fiction and writing, well, just about anything else. Reports, presentations, journalism, homework assignment may flex your lexicals, but they set you totally wrong for fiction. Find out how to shake off their disruptive influence.

2 thoughts on “‘Highly original, delivered with aplomb’ – pick of the month at Multi-Story

  1. I loved your guest post on the difference between writing fiction and other types of writing. I do legal writing for a living, so it was definitely helpful to see what the most common problems are for non-fic writers. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks, Erin! It’s amazing how writing for a day job can affect your fiction, both in voice and approach. I’m freelancing on a medical title at the moment and I have to deluge myself in the memoirs of Laurie Lee to remind myself language doesn’t have to be literal. Good luck shaking off the legalese.

Your turn!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.