How to write a book

What’s editing – and how do editors work with writers? Interview at Writers’ Narrative magazine

Why is editing so important for writers? Why is it publishing’s biggest – and best-kept – secret?

How do editors work with writers to ensure clarity and consistency – and yet preserve the writer’s unique voice and flavour? What if the writer disagrees about changes the editor wants to make? How do we keep a dialogue going throughout the editing process so the writer doesn’t feel they’re losing control of their ‘baby’?

I’m thrilled to be interviewed by crime writer and children’s book author Wendy H Jones at the magazine Writers’ Narrative. She devised the questions, which cannily unpeeled how we balance rules and art when we work with authors. Do come over.

There’s a lot more about writing in my Nail Your Novel books – find them here. If you’re curious about my own work, find novels here and my travel memoir here. And if you’re curious about what’s going on at my own writing desk, here’s my latest newsletter. You can subscribe to future updates here.

3 thoughts on “What’s editing – and how do editors work with writers? Interview at Writers’ Narrative magazine

  1. I was just at Writer’s Narrative, and I was wondering if the magazine is for writers in Great Britain, or the world over? I would like something to arrive in my mail box on a regular basis (other than your newsletter), that could give me the inspirational kick in the pants to keep on writing. I hate dry spells when I don’t write anything, and would dearly love to contribute something, anything to this world, that says I was here.

    Editors won’t correct your spelling, or your grammar, but they will point out when something is amiss or simply doesn’t work. Some love red pens.

    1. Hi Tom! Ah, thank you for the lovely compliment about my newsletter.

      As to your question about Writers’ Narrative, I don’t know how you subscribe. I guess that because it’s available on line, it’s just as accessible to US as UK readers. I’ll invite the editor, Wendy Jones, here to reply herself.

Your turn!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.