How to write a book · Interviews · podcasts · Writer basics 101

How to find your author voice – interview with Joanna Penn

author voiceHello! I’m slightly late posting this week because I knew I had this waiting. Joanna Penn invited me back to her podcast to thrash out a thorny topic – how to find your author voice.

We discuss what voice is, how to develop it, how character dialogue differs from narrative voice, how authors might adapt their style for different kinds of book, voice considerations for non-fiction, the value of experimenting and – that perennial favourite – why literary fiction might take so darn long to write. Plus side helpings of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater, so bring a picnic.

You can get it on video, audio download or written transcript – it’s all here.

Save

20 thoughts on “How to find your author voice – interview with Joanna Penn

        1. Persistence and solid craft. And an endless hunger to learn. That probably sounds glib, but there are few short cuts. However, I’ve shared the short cuts I DO know in the little books you’ll see to the right here….

  1. Great post Roz and Joanna. I read the transcript. And I know how some authors struggle with voice. I suppose I was fortunate to have found mine with my first book. Especially in memoir writing, a voice should represent the tone of the story. 🙂

Your turn!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.