How to write a book · Interviews · podcasts · The writing business

So You Want To Be A Writer? New radio show to get you started

tim fran and bookshop recording sept 034smlEvery week, my bookseller friend Peter Snell gets customers who ask him nervously: ‘how do I write’ and ‘how do I get published’? Sometimes they give him manuscripts or book proposals. I get emails with the same questions.

So we decided to team up for a series of shows for Surrey Hills Radio. If you’re a regular on this blog, you’re probably beyond starter-level advice, but if you’re feeling your way, or your friends or family have always hankered to do what you do, this might be just the ticket.

If you follow me on Facebook you’ll have seen the various pictures of us goofing with a fuzzy microphone, recording in the bookshop while customers slink past with bemused expressions. (Yes, that tiny gizmo is the complete mobile recording kit. It’s adorable.) So far the shows have been available only at the time of broadcast on Surrey Hills Radio (Saturday afternoons at 2pm BST), but the studio guys have now made podcasts so you can listen whenever you want. Shows in the back catalogue have covered

  • giving yourself permission to write
  • establishing a writing habit
  • thinking like a writer
  • getting published 101
  • how to self-publish.

This week’s show will be on planning a non-fiction book and the show after that will be outlining a novel – and will also include sneak peeks of the advice I’ve been cooking up for my third Nail Your Novel, on plot. So you want to be a writer? We have the inside knowledge. Do drop by.

 

14 thoughts on “So You Want To Be A Writer? New radio show to get you started

  1. Surrey might want to get this podcast listed in the iTunes store. I found their app but not the podcast. And attempting teach iTunes the podcast by linking to the webpage with the podcasts did not work. No episodes would list in iTunes.

    1. Thanks for the suggestion, Michael. The podcasts only went up today so perhaps they’re in the itunes pipeline. I’ll pass your comments on. In the meantime, you might be able to listen by just clicking, I guess?

  2. What an awesome idea. I love podcasts. Was first introduced to them during my college years when Grammar Girl put out a bunch of them to help people learn . . . well, grammar. I think this could be very helpful to writers . . . since we spend so much time on our computers anyway.

Your turn!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.